Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #47 " Freaky"steemCreated with Sketch.

What is weird could be freaky....

I went to the market today and got a bunch of spinach and other goodies. I didn't make much bread today as I used it to experiment. I like my stuffed breads (so does everyone here) but I like to change it up every so often. Plus it keeps everyone interested for longer.  

But this is how my sandwich looked like before I split it open. 

 

To all sandwich makers out there. Go check out this contest: Steemit sandwich contest week 47.

Big shout out goes to @jaybird for organizing this contest. 

I used the following to make this sandwich:

Bread:

  • Wheat flour 
  • Water
  • Yeast
  • Salt 

Filler:

  • Spinach
  • Onion
  • Garlic 
  • Salt and pepper
  • Cumin powder
  • Tomato
  • White cheese
  • Local honey 

 

A couple hours earlier I had started some dough. Just a small batch though, but enough to make 8 "freaky" sandwiches. 


Just have to love garlic and I can take it further sometimes. I finely chopped some up, added salt, pepper and cumin powder. 

I shredded a fair bit of spinach and mixed it in with the garlic. 

Added a bit of finely diced onion. 

Time to prepare the dough. I just flatten it out like a pizza, but not too thinly. In the centre are a few blobs of locally sourced honey. 

A slice of tomato. 

A slice of white cheese. It is really salty and a bit like feta. 

A fair spoonful of spinach and onion/garlic mix.

Not going to fold this one over with one hand. 


A few seconds later and all folded. 

Flipped over and dusted in flour. 


A few hours later with 20 minutes of baking and here we go...: 


Freakily good. 

If you would like to read my posts, then find me here @intrepidsurfer

Sort:  

That really looks tasty, the bread ahhh. The cheese and spinach really sounds wonderful. Every time I see your sandwiches I want to make bread! lol Well done!

oh it was super tasty, so much so I didn't have enough to go round when I walked to the hotels here. There is only such bread I can make daily by hand.

These look delicious! Love that you made them from scratch!

I am glad you like the look of these. Making ones own bread is far easier than one thinks. Plus I find it relaxing.

I wanted to make sourdough at some point a few months back, but my starter got all moldy instead of yeasty, I was so pissed, and I will try again haha

oh the starter, I tried once and it was hard to keep up with. I use dry yeast and what I do is I make the dough and let it work over 24 hours minimum. Over that time I do refold it a few times, but when you bake it. The texture and taste is way different. More random air pockets, sour tasting and crunchy crust :)

I do enjoy ur stuffed sandwiches. Love the honey addition and or course the patented homemade surfer bread ~

Honey is such a great addition and the ladies love it :) going to be cooking 7 or so cheese burgers later on :)

Haha Crypto-Babes love honey :)

Been selling anymore sandwiches for steem?

Haha Crypto-Babes love honey :)

Been selling anymore sandwiches for steem?

nope not recently, but I have noticed that people here in Lobitos using steemit. Are doing so less nowadays, due to the low value of Steem and SBD.

Sweet and salty, yummy! Those look absolutely amazing. I can almost smell the fresh baked bread.

I have just baked another three trays of bread right now :) going to be making a small stack of cheese burgers. I even made a bread with chocolate chunks and sliced banana.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32