Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #35- "Flower"

I was initially apprehensive about using flowers in my sandwich, but it fit the themed week. So why not!?

Apart from trees, I also like growing as much veg as I can. I have a cornichon de Paris plant (mini cucumbers or gherkins). I grow these as they are amazing pickled. It works hand in hand with the hamburgers I make. 

I figure I will start harvesting this plant and start pickling as of next week. 

This plant is in full bloom and there are loads to collect for my sandwich. 

To all sandwich makers out there. Go check out this contest: Steemit sandwich contest week 35.

Big shout out goes to @jaybird for organizing this contest. 

I used the following to make this sandwich:

Bread:

  • Wheat flour
  • Water
  • Yeast
  • Salt

Filler:

  • Pepperoni
  • Mantecoso cheese
  • Baby cucumber flowers
  • Sriracha


I have one bread spare and I baked three trays today. 


Cut in half and it is still steeming. 

Chuck in some cheese. 

Load up on the pepperoni. 

Lay down your prepped flowers. I removed everything but the petals. 

How could I not put this in my sandwich, flowers or not! 

I did actually demolish this post surf sandwich. Ok, believe or not, the flowers where very tasty. Once you got used to the texture, it taste like cucumber and with a hint of spring. The sriracha hot sauce did not actually over power the flower taste. 

Hey everyone. I hope you liked this sandwich. I would like  share a video I made:

VIDEO> Upvote a tree to make it a Steem forest. Charity starts with Steem. Three more trees planted to day.

Yes, I plant trees for your upvote. It is that simple. 36 trees  planted since the 1st of February and all with your simple upvote.

(Usage with permission. This art work and owner of such, is courtesy of @artwatch and usage requires permission )

It all started with the Steemit Sandwich Contest.

If you would like to read my posts, then find me here @intrepidsurfer

Sort:  

Love to see u use cucumber flowers!!!! Those are sooooo good stuffed with ricotta, chillies and fried in beer batter!!!! Great sandwich, excellent combo!

I was quite adventurous by using the flowers, but in the end it turn out well. What you are describing is like wow! I never knew that was a dish. You going to do it and post it?

Most definitly! As soon as I get my hands on some flowers. . It's still early for cucumbers or zucchini (those flowers are exellent too) here :) we still had snow like 2 weeks ago....

Snow, what is snow?

Ahahahahahaha, right :)

Like I said before, your sandwiches always make me smile.

Baby cucumber flowers is something I could not have guessed in a million years. Nice!

Me too, but I walked past this plant everyday for months and it was worth a try :)

Great up from me! 👍👍 I know the little flowers, cause I planted some cucumbers last year. But brave to eat the flowers :-) how them taste?

Tasted like flower cucumbers :)

Excellent add! I didn't know cucumber flowers would taste like cucumbers. Were they a little spikey? I'll have to try that sometime.. Do you make bread and butter pickles? That was my use for the little pickles. Great job!

I removed the spikey parts which was quite easy. Only used the petals. Bread and butter pickles.. this is new to me, what are they?

Bread and Butter pickles are wonderful. They are sweet. Onions, peppers with a sweet marinade. Always a favorite.

Ha Yes! Great choice with the flowers! I've had a few entries from time to time utilizing wild flowers. I like them in salads sometimes too! Bet the cucumber taste worked out well!

Sandwich on a whole looks dope!

I will definitely make a salad with them. I have thai basil and they flower once in a whole. Next sandwich is going to be a whole lot harder to come up with.

The flower sandwich looks like fun! :D But I believe it can be good actually :)

don't try, don't find out attitude today. what I thought it would be was so so wrong.

We know in Italy they have 'Flores de zucchini' as a dish. Very delicious, although fattening as the flowers are deep fried in batter with mozzarella inside (sometimes an anchovy too). Though, it good to use everything part of the plant if you can. This sandwich looks like the real deal and good sport on getting behind with the contest. 😊

thank you :)the flores de zucchini sound divine! I will be definately experimenting more with them. Should try out the contest, good fun and networking too.

We can give it a go! Sandwiches are not really a big thing here in Thailand. More rice and noodles based dishes that cost way less than buying bread. So, by the time you add the ingredients to your sandwich, it can cost quite a bit. To put it into perspective, a 6-inch Subway starts from $3 upwards here (and that's the simple sandwich fillers). We see you make your own bread, maybe it's something we could look into trying.

I wouldn't worry about the bread part. The sandwich isn't defined to mean that is must contain bread. You just have to be creative. This week is a themed week. Home baked bread is unbeatable in so many ways :)

Yes, we guess that is true - once had two slices of ham with a piece of cheese in the middle....called it a breadless sandwich, yet it was still a sandwich. Hummm, we'll have to think out of the box for 'themed' week. We'll see if we can come up with something, otherwise we'll skip to start on the following week. :)

Your bread rolls always looks great! Must get my hands on that sriracha sauce, have never seen it locally.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94