Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #4: Tender Meatloaf & Fried Egg in a Stuffed PaprikawichsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitsandwichcontest7 years ago (edited)

I’ve been feeling a bit sorry for The Mann, who can only watch as I devour sandwich after sandwich since he’s been on a no-carb diet.

For Week 4’s Steemit Sandwich Challenge, I tried to be more inclusive towards his dietary restriction in my entry. I made Stuffed Paprikas to replace the sandwich bread. In the end, only 90% of my creation was carb-free though. The 10% carb content comprised crushed TUC crackers and hand-crumbled baked burger bun crumbs inside the meatloaf.

main pic.png

Note: This post is formatted in accordance with the example provided here by contest creator @jaybird.

SANDWICH NAME

Tender Meatloaf & Fried Egg in a Stuffed Paprikawich

IMG_20170903_113227.jpg

IMG_20170903_113000.jpg

INGREDIENTS

Homemade Stuffed Paprikas (bread replacement)*
Tender Meatloaf*
Fried Egg
Green Leaf Lettuce
Homemade Bread crumbs (garnish)*

2017-09-03_19.21.30.jpg

Homemade Stuffed Paprikas
Red and Yellow Paprikas
Grilled ham
Cheddar Cheese
Homemade Herby Cream Cheese*
Gratin Cheese (30-30-30 mix of cheddar, gouda, and emmental cheeses)

2017-09-03_11.56.36.jpg

Halve and deseed paprikas. Layer with ham and cheese slices. Spoon Homemade Herby Cream Cheese into each paprika. Top with Gratin Cheese. Bake till cheese browns.

Homemade Herby Cream Cheese
Cream cheese
Heavy cream
Fresh basil, chopped
Fresh parsley, chopped
Fresh garlic, pressed
Roasted paprika powder
Lemon juice, hand-squeezed
Salt
Black Pepper

2017-09-03_18.57.48.jpg

Mix everything together with a fork.

Tender Meatloaf
Lean Ground Beef
Yellow onion, minced
Fresh garlic cloves, minced
Unsalted butter
Sea Salt
Black Pepper
Sour Cream
TUC original crackers, crushed
Hand-crumbled bread crumbs (from baked sesame seed hamburger buns)
Canned tomato chunks
Worcestershire sauce
Chicken Egg

2017-09-03_11.46.25.jpg

Stir-fry minced onion and garlic in butter, salt, and pepper until fragrant and translucent (5 min).
Add in all other ingredients and mix together with spatula or hands.

Bake at 175°C for 30 mins. Then glaze with Homemade Glaze and bake another 15 mins at 200°C.

Homemade Glaze
Coconut Palm Sugar dissolved in a little hot water
Honey
Soy Sauce
Sriracha Chilli Sauce
Canned tomato chunks, drained
Sprinkling of Lemon Juice

2017-09-03_19.11.16.jpg

Mix everything together.

ASSEMBLE THE SANDWICH

I’m aware that there’s rather a lot of steps to this sandwich. =O But they all work well together.

I started by making the meatloaf. I basically baked and crumbled the burger buns and TUC crackers while the onion and garlic were getting happy in the frying pan. Then I switched off the stove, added the rest of ingredients, and popped the meatloaf into the oven.

While the meatloaf baked, I whipped up the Herby Cream Cheese. Then prepared the stuffed peppers and added them to the tray in the oven beside the half-baked meatloaf.

After that, it was just choosing the Stuffed Paprika halves to act as ‘sandwich bread’ (I picked one red and one yellow half), adding a green leaf lettuce, and a slice or two of meatloaf.

IMG_20170903_113332.jpg

Then I added a freshly-fried egg (note that I broke the yolk in this fried egg to make the sandwich a little less messy).

IMG_20170903_113304.jpg

IMG_20170903_113000.jpg

I surrounded my sandwich with the excess bread crumbs I had. The Mann had his without.

Ta-dah! =D

IMG_20170903_112623.jpg

If you love making or eating sandwiches, do join the 'Steemit Sandwich Contest' too! It’s run by @jaybird and promises to be a gastronomic feast for the eyes. =D

Sort:  

Wow It is so beautiful ...Honestly when i started to read your post at first I thought that you are in restaurant because your food looks so stunning...And I'm pretty sure it's delicious ^_^ You did a great job! Love it! :)

haha thanks..that's a really sweet comment =) Have a lovely day, @leyla5!

its so yummy upvoted

Thanks @diya28! Have a great evening!

Oh Jeez, what a creation...seriously.

I'm in Awe of the amount of home made aspects of this meal.

Herby Cream Cheese
Meat loaf
Glaze
Steemit sign lol etc....

Really went all out this week and it translates very well!

Well donE!

hehe it was very fun to make =D I'm hooked to that cream cheese mixture, btw..best thing ever since pizza!

lol. and pizza is pretty up there !

Wow, another one of these beyond-everything sandwiches. Just looking at your delicious pics gets my stomach grumbling. Hope this one will be as successful as the last.

hehe the stuffed paprikas using sweet roasting peppers are truly delish!! I made them again today..then went out to the store to buy another box for tomorrow..I'm kinda addicted to those man..My husband says they taste like pizza..yet it's a healthier version teehee..

Have you tried roasted stuffed sweet paprikas before? :)) They are the ones that look like huge-ass red chilis..lol

Oh yes, capsicums, bell-peppers, California peppers, these are some of the names I know them by, just in English. And do I know about roasting them? Hahaha, there was a time when I would roast (or rather grill) just about everything: from carrots and beets to corn (on the cob), not to mention various types of meat. Although, now that I'm thinking about it, I think I also roasted them on a stick over a campfire: with a small onion, some slices of zucchini, and some greasy bacon, those peppers become so delicious especially if you let the bacon fat, mixed with the veggie juice drip onto a slice of bread, toasted over the same fire. Mmmmm... marshmallows are nowhere compared to that!

Ah well, who did I think I was...asking such a question of a Grillmeister!!!

Bacon fat drippings all over roasted veggies and on bread toasted over an open fire...my word..definitely sounds heaps better than marshmallows roasted on whittled branches!! =))

This is wonderful. Love that the Mann got to enjoy a sandwich with you :p

hehe finally he could! :))

Another wonderful creation my friend, i like your creativity a lot! Amazing to see that you used stuffed paprika here.
Bravo my friend!

hehe thanks for your kind words...kinda stumped on the creative side this week for carrots and monochrome!! :O hahaha

That sandwich looks super delicious. Thumbs up for your creation, as always. :) All the best with the contest.

Thanks dear! :) I won the previous week's round, so I was quite sure I wouldn't win this week's one. And I was right. But it's still very much fun to make these sandwiches hehe

You should join in too! =D

As much as I love to eat good food, I doubt I could make food look like you do. You're an artist sweetie. Contest or not, this one is a winner. :)

You are the first person to ever call me an artist, dear =) I'll take that as a compliment, though this is a new side to me that I've not really seen before...I think I have as much fun as I do because it involves food teehee..

If you ever come to visit, I'll make you the meatloaf or the stuffed paprikas to try..eating both together is simply way too messy!!! =PP

Very yummy looking sandwich..thanks for sending in the recipe

Thanks..happy to have your approval and acknowledgment :))

you are welcome

your foods and recipes are quite different but looken delicious

Thanks @javedakhter! Glad you think so..Have a lovely weekend! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by foodie.warrior from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66