Steemit Sandwich Contest Week # 37 - Germany Meets South America Vegan Sausage

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

arepa134.jpg

This is my entry to #steemitsandwichcontest by @jaybird

Germany meets South America vegan sausage

I won't be baking anymore bread in this house. It's not my kitchen. Today the in laws went to Walmart. I was on a time limit.

I was thinking about back in the old days when we went to the club and closed it down and we had the munchies after a night of drinking and when we walked outside to see the sausage cart, we quickly lined up and got the works on our dogs.

I was inspired to do the bread part by @jennimorillo mother of @yesslife. She made a post about a Venezuelan food called "Arepas" It's made from precooked cornflour. I don't know what it is so I just used tortilla flour.

https://steemit.com/recipe/@jennimorillo/let-s-make-a-healthy-and-nutritive-arepa

I didn't do it the traditional way which is to make a pocket and stuff it. Instead I just made something like thick tortillas mixed with spinach, green onion and jalapeno peppers.

Although this is not typical German sausage type of bread, I decided to keep the bread gluten free since the vegan sausages have gluten in them.

It may sound like a strange combination but I loved it. Apparently there are German colonies in Venezuela so why not combine the two.

line4.jpg

arepa.jpg

arepa1.jpg

Back in the day when we went to get our late night wienies at the sausage cart, I always loaded up with the works including sauerkraut. My sauerkraut today was sauteed with onions.

line4.jpg

arepa2.jpg

So I used the condiments that I would have chosen at the sausage cart ketchup, relish, mustard, mayo (vegan)

line4.jpg

arepa7.jpg

The sausages were vegan by Tofurky. They really do the job for me.

line4.jpg

arepa8.jpg

Sauerkraut, lettuce, tomato, grilled red onion,

line4.jpg

arepa9.jpg

...and pickled hot peppers.

line4.jpg

arepa10.jpg

arepa11.jpg

arepa12.jpg

We wern't sure if it was going to fit in anyone's mouth so Marc took it for a test drive.

line4.jpg

arepa16.jpg

It worked!

line4.jpg

It was a good day for a barbecue so we also had some sweet corn on the cob brushed with olive oil and seasoned with onion powder, paprika salt and pepper. The final touch was sriracha. It still wasn't hot enough for me. I like it to hurt. I 'll try harder next time.

line4.jpg

arepa14.jpg

Thick Corn tortilla or Arepa torn in two


Masa corn tortilla flour
green onion
jalapeno
spinach
water
salt
pepper

Sandwich filling



vegan sausage "Tofurky"
ketchup
mustard
relish
vegan mayo
lettuce
tomato
sauerkraut
hot pickled peppers
grilled red onion

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Great idea! Great sandwich! I have never tried tofurky. I have made seitan before. I will have to search that out. I love the sauerkraut on the sandwich. Good combo of flavors. Did I mention beautiful?!! Good luck

Thanks so much for that wonderful comment. I would like to experiment with seitan for sure.:}

Friend how are you, I am grateful that you have us present in one of your recipes that I am very cool I would have liked to try it I see that Marc liked it so he must be happy because his girlfriend cooks very well
I have a lot of love

Thank you my friend ! I appreciate new ideas from you.

Wow @carolynstahl, your entry look amazing once again!
I just love corn & corn flour, must have tasted delicious.

Thank you so much @lizelle! Corn flour is such a great thing to work with:)

That sandwich looks absolutely stunning! Wich I could have a bite :)

Thanks so much for that wonderful comment!

Wow, this is truly a masterpiece. Love the sauerkraut add...made my mouth water just reading your post! And of course the hot sauce, yum! Well done @carolynstahl.

Wow what a wonderful comment. Thank you so much @birdsinparadise

aw this looks really tasty dear, make me eager to taste it always with the most delecious food, hope you have a greeat time.

Oh so kind of you my friend thank you!

This looks great. Love how u took inspirarion from Yessica’s mama :)

I can totally empathize with the late night munchies haha!

Great use of ingredients & that bread looked very interesting. Appreciate the homemadeness of it.

I love Yessica and her mama:) Thanks so much @jaybird!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.60 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.12
Server time: 04:06:22
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 400.23/800.00
Total Photos: 37
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I'm not vegan but I was tear up that sandwich!

Ha ha it was a tasty sandwich I assure you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43