Steemit Sandwich Contest Week # 33 @jaybird ~ Faux Chicken Club With Spicy Eastern Pickle

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for week #33

steemitsandwichcontest

jay9.jpg

I just arrived back from Mexico after six months. I now am in Montreal and although I miss the great weather, and everything that goes with it, I also have missed certain ingredients that I couldn't get or couldn't afford down there.

I made this sandwich with tofu. Wait! don't turn away because I said tofu! I know people including other vegans that hate it. I can get into their heads and understand somehow how they feel. I however have grown to love it and I'm sure that if some of the tofu haters that I know would have this sandwich that I created just today, they would say only one thing. "More please".

jay.jpg

I went to a supermarket that seemed to have an Eastern theme, and browsed at many items that I haven't used before. I saw a jar of spicy eastern mixed pickle which taste reminds me of Indian however it has Middle Eastern writing on it. I decided to see what I could do with it.

tofu1.jpg

First I shredded the tofu to make it small enough to soak up the flavors of the seasonings. I sauteed it along with red, yellow and orange sweet peppers, mushrooms, onion, soy sauce, salt and pepper.

jay1.jpg

When that was fully cooked I took it out and mixed it with the pickle

jay2.jpg

We all know that a club sandwich requires three slices of bread, and two layers of filling. So I started the first layer with the tofu mixture spreading it on toasted multigrain bread which I purchased at the same store as the pickle and the tofu.

jay3.jpg

Then I added thinly shredded red cabbage and baby lettuce.

jay4.jpg

I needed some kind of spread so I looked in my partner's mother's kitchen where we are staying for now, and I found some sweet and sour sauce. It may sound strange, but it was the perfect addition to the spicy pickle making the sandwich perfectly sweet and savory.

jay5.jpg

I made one more layer the same and assembled it holding it together with toothpicks.

jay7.jpg

jay8.jpg

I suppose I've mixed cultures together. East meets west and south of somewhere meets north of some other place. It worked out great for me. I loved it!

jay6.jpg

Sandwich ingredients


Multigrain bread
Extra firm tofu
red, yellow, and orange pepper
1 Small onion
Soy sauce
Salt and pepper
Baby lettuce
Sweet and sour sauce
Shreded red cabbage
Mix eastern style pickle

Thanks to @jaybird for creating a super fun contest.

signature.jpg

Sort:  

absolutely awesome

I love that comment thanks so much!

would take a serious bite if i could and if ya let me-just looks sooooooo delicious

Salut @carolynstahl , great sandwich and I really like the pickle addition. I hope it isn't too cold @intrepidsurfer

Thank you so much. Yes it is too cold haha.

you are very welcome. It is always good to see and read your sandwich creations. Is winter longer than usual this year?

That's what they say but I have been in Mexico for six months haha until now.

hehe so when do you get back on a plane?

Before the next snow fall I hope haha.

Friend how are you, I wrote you in the other publication, that sandwich looks very tasty!

Yes dear, it is nice to hear from you always thank you!

thanks for your support, count on mine!

Brilliant idea to shred the tofu exposing more surface area, really does help soak up those yummy flavours!

Thank you! Tofu is like that. Haha.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 02:07:21
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 124.18/200.00
Total Photos: 10
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Great colours in this 1. I love tofu (most of the time).

I like how you improvised the classic club and really made it your own with this great combination of ingredients and I assume flavours.

Entertaining entry!

Thanks a lot! It was super tasty. I only wish I would have made this sooner.

Oh thank you so much @lizelle!

Now that is a stacker. Interesting that you used tofu. Looks beautiful and delicious. Good luck.

Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59319.27
ETH 2469.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45