Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #89| Horsey Crab Melt

DSC_0083 (2).jpg

Happy Hump day my Foodie friends!


Not only is today Hump Day but It also begins week #89 of Sandwich King @jaybirds Steemit Sandwich Contest! Wow! Can you imagine what 89 weeks of crazy sandwiches look like? I’m sure we’re getting close to if not already over 1000 sandwiches made to salute this great Sandwich community! Thank you @jaybird for your dedication and inspiration to all of us! This week we have not just @jaybird but @llfarms and @gringalicious to thank for sponsoring this week’s get together! I’m sure I can safely speak for my fellow sandwich Elves with a giant sandwich hug and thanks!


I know @jaybird just opened this contest yesterday but this morning I woke up thinking about my entry this week. After a long bike ride, I had decided what I would make, hopefully I had everything! It’s funny but I have found living in this tropical climate often dictates what I’m in the mood for.


Today I wanted something with a little kick! How about Horseradish? Interested?


todaysjourney.jpg

Horsey Crab Melt

All it takes!

  • Fresh Crab (flaked) (1/2 lb.)
  • Horseradish (2 tbsp.)
  • Mayo (1/3 cup
  • Fresh Green Onions
  • Avocado
  • Sharp Cheddar Cheese
  • Salt/Pepper (to taste)
  • Fresh Sourdough English Muffins
  • And...Tropical Sweets to cleanse the palate

I grabbed the muffins…


and broiled them for a few minutes, I knew I didn’t want soggy muffins! While they were toasting I gathered all of the ingredients and chopped the Green Onions . I just love Horseradish, it adds such an interesting dimension to the salad don't you think?

DSC_0054 (2).jpg

Now everything but...


the Avocado is mixed together. After a good stir and taste I realized more Horseradish and pepper were needed.
DSC_0057 (2).jpg

Slice up…


The Avocado, have to include avocado right? On they go, toasted muffins were ready! A generous scoop of Horsey Crab was next, topped with a liberal handful of Cheddar Cheese. I could tell this would be something Mr. Bird would chirp about!
DSC_0061 (2).jpg

Back under the broiler…


for a couple of minutes. My eagle eye was trained on that oven, no burned cheese for these two birds! Times up!

Voila, Enjoy my Sandwich Friends!


DSC_0062 (2).jpg

A Cheesy-licious Hump Day Delight! Bird Style!


DSC_0070 (2).jpg


This turned out to be a nice light lunch, perfect for a hot day! Mr. Bird was tweeting a nice tune after this spicy goodie, he thought the tropical sweet was a nice addition to a great sandwich! I hope you enjoyed my silly Sandwich rendition this week @jaybird! Thanks for stopping by!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Oh, how do you do it??? Everything. Every time! I actually thought it was a piece of chicken but remembered it was a sandwich contest! Oh, you fooled my eyes, but never the palate!

Just the ingredients on the page were making my mouth water.

I have to admit, I like a little kick to my food, but, this was absolutely perfect and it had crab and English muffins - sourdough! You make them look absolutely scrumptious! Every. Single. Time.

You totally rock this sandwich shop! ;)

!tip

You're amazing Denise, thank you so much. You really know how to make me smile :) This was fun to make, I love spicy but I have to temper it for my sweet spouse...I love sourdough English muffins so I only allow myself to have them on special occasions, lol Nothing like Toasted Soudough English muffins with melty butter..woo I'm so glad you enjoyed this, I would love to see a food post from you, I'm sure you're quite a chef! Although, I have to say the flowers and poetry you share are quite enough food for my soul. Blessings to you my friend!

Hey I have never ever heard of horsey CRAB melts!!

But I loveeee crab and avocado and all the ingredients you mentioned.

It's near dinnertime here and you're making me hungry XD

Thanks so much for sharing - hope to try it soon <3

Well, I though horsey would be fun due to the horseradish...silly I know, but then I'm kind of silly as it is. Crab and Avocado, you're right, thumbs up! Hope you enjoyed your dinner, thanks for your kind words @joeylim :)

Hahaha i'm silly too XD so I appreciate the creativity 😇

Posted using Partiko Android

These look truly gorgeous. I haven't made crab cakes in forever. It's probably time to give it another go.

I made spaghetti carbonara last night -- with bacon, mushrooms and peas, and I was kind of nervous about it. The idea of cooking your sauce (with raw eggs!!) just from the heat of the pasta seemed ... dicey. But it turned out great and it was delicious. (I know. Gluten.) Do they make any decent gluten-free pasta?

I figured if it bombed we could feed it to the dogs. But the dog's didn't get a look in. I think they're mad about that.

Thank you so much @enchantedspirit, I consider this quite a compliment :) Your carbonara sauce sounds amazing, and I know it's always fun to combine ingredients that are a little sketchy only to find out they compliment one another and your result is so good. I find that so satisfying, bringing joy to someone else with good food. Oh and I love Jovial brand gluten free pasta. It seems to hold up well when cooked unlike most gf pasta. I hope you are able to find it! Glad to hear the dogs didn't get to enjoy your dinner, I'm sure CW was thumbs up happy!

Enchanted Spirit's Refrigerator Garbage Spaghetti Carbonara

1 pound of bacon -- fried, chopped up in the equivalent of Walter
Left over cooked frozen peas from several nights ago
Mushrooms sauteed in butter and white wine, dusted with a little Cajun seasoning (Sssshhh!)
Left over spaghetti noodles drizzled with a little olive oil from a completely other dinner

Combine these in an electric skillet. Cover. Set heat at about 200 - 225. Heat through completely, tossing occasionally to make sure everything is combined and hot all the way through. Dust with a little onion powder & garlic powder while heating. (Or cook chopped onions and garlic w/ your mushrooms if you're feeling ambitious. I may do that next time.)

In my HUGE cookie bowl -- combine five eggs & about 1 c. half-and-half. Beat thoroughly w/ electric mixer. Add about 1 c. shredded Parmesan cheese and a scant 1/2 t. black pepper.

Dump piping hot pasta, mushrooms, etc., mix straight from the skillet into the egg mixture in the cookie bowl. (Get your husband to help. This works better with two people and at least 3 - 4 hands.) Immediately begin churning pasta to coat thoroughly w/ egg mixture -- which will actually melt into a "sauce" -- believe it or not. (I wasn't sure this was going to happen. But lo and behold, it did!!)

Serve immediately. (My trusty spaghetti lifter did great on this part.) Top with extra shredded Parmesan cheese. Yell at yourself for being such a wuss and not brave enough to try this years ago. Enjoy -- 'cause it really was delicious.

I know. There's about 8 ingredients, and you probably can't have 12 of them. Too bad for you. (Feeling pretty smug and cocky after my success.)

Girl, this would make Julia Childs proud! Wow, what a dish, the visual you have just provided is priceless. I can just imagine you and CW in the kitchen whipping up this gourmet meal. 5 eggs! yikes, I would have been terrified too, lol I wish I could have been at the table to enjoy this meal. :) Thank you! I'll have to try this one!

If you're serious about trying this, start with your eggs and cream as close to room temperature as possible so you don't chill the pasta too quickly before the cheese has a chance to melt -- and so the heat from the pasta can do the work of cooking the eggs while still not "scrambling" them. This really was easy once I had all the ingredients assembled and found the courage to try it. Recipes I consulted said it would be -- but I've been lied to before.

No kidding though, this really is simple -- and with enough spice to suit your taste is is truly delicious. You can also make it with different kinds of bacon-y meat -- like pancetta, finely chopped ham, etc. Of course, with a lot of different flavors of bacon available, you can get plenty of variety that way. I'm just grateful -- for all that I tease you about it -- that I don't have some of the food / allergy issues you have to accommodate. We can try almost anything I have the inspiration to attempt. I am a pretty good cook and I enjoy my own cooking immensely -- especially when things go right!!

Some of the best meals I've made are ones where I consulted my ethnic preferences for the night, looked at my available ingredients ... and then just decided to wing it. That's kind of a shame because when it succeeds -- and @catweasel is raving about how good it is, I have to tell him, "Well, enjoy it while it lasts, because you'll never have it again."

The first time I tried chicken tikka masala, I was licking the sauce off the spoon like it was a lollipop. I'm not real sure what "Indian food" is really supposed to taste like -- and The Weasel is no help here whatsoever. He knows what he likes -- and that's the extent of it. I've made some interesting variations of the original since then, but none comes as close (at least in my memory) as the first attempt to being just superb. I do keep trying though. We haven't tossed out anything yet. And my health seems to really prosper from some of the spices those recipes use. I've become such an advocate of using food as medicine. It just feels right.

Oh my word, I've just woken up to see this sandwich delight in my feed, Mrs Bird you are wicked! I would also be chirping if I was served one of these, love the crab meat, the horseradish and sourdough muffins, just yum!

Posted using Partiko Android

hehehe, you're sweet @lizelle..I'll be waiting to see what masterpiece you share this week. I think we both try to think up treats to make our guys happy :) Blessings to you!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 458 (04/17/19)

Thank you for supporting my posts @thesteemengine!

Oh my God, does anything you make not picture well? I love these English muffin open face crab Sammie’s. Unprepared horseradish is my fave though. You really do put up some incredible sandwiches each week @birdsinparadise. So, when did you say your cook book is coming out? You’re wayyyy too good to not have one Mrs. Bird 🤩

hehehehe you silly girl, you are to nice ;) The camera gets all the credit, used on ebay- to the rescue, lol Horseradish is so good, can you eat it right now? I would love to hear more from you about your adventures btw... cookbook-smookbook silly, I'm just a silly old bird having fun! lol

I can totally eat horseradish right now. I’m actually eating whatever I want right now. My only restrictions are that I eat plant based plus fish and eggs of course. And you should totally look into a virtual cookbook girl, your recipes are stellar. When I first started cooking I had no idea what I was doing. I didn’t even know how to read a recipe and I’d find some things a bit confusing that I now recognize as common knowledge for anyone who has ever cooked something. For example, if the recipe said “don’t over mix” I would think to myself “can you show me a picture of the perfect mix or tell me what I’m looking for or why I shouldn’t over mix”. Needless to say there was a huge learning curve but it all seemed to work out. Your recipes are very staright forward, for beginners or novices alike, and I just think a virtual cookbook from Mrs Bird would be an awesome thing. No pressure though 😉

Wow, this sandwich is so delicious. Crab with avocado, I’ve never ate both together, but... yummy. If I do not have crab at the moment, Would be very different the result if I use fish?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks! I think Avocado is so versatile...I use it a lot because it's so good for you! I would try it with any fish, I love Avocado with Salmon as well :)

Mmmm salmon, Yummmmm.

Posted using Partiko iOS

OMG what is this??? I have never heard such a sandwich ! What a magical sandwich, all the ingredients and the photos are making me absolutely hungry :O ???

WOW. I can only imagine the taste * ____ *

hehe, well I'm glad this made you happy @veryspider! It was tasty, something about the sourdough muffin, horseradish and lots of melty cheeszyness.....:) Thank you!

Man does that look good! Already at a disadvantage; the broiler on our over would probably turn them into hockey pucks! I have only had crab from the "seafood and crab" sandwich at Subway, so can't really say I know the taste (don't think Subway counts lol)...

Looking at all those ingredients, however, was enough to make the old mouth water. @jaybirds #steemitsandwhich contest is a really cool concept, and thanks need to be said to @llfarms and @gringalicious for sponsoring such a cool challenge!

Thanks for sharing my friend! Great post!!

hehehe, aww, I'm sorry your broiler doesn't work well, I often have to lower the racks or I will also have a fire onboard! Subway...well, not sure what that "crab" would be from, but hey, it's populare :) Glad you enjoyed this sandwich contest, you'll have to join in on the fun sometime! We would love to have you!

That is certainly a very creative sandwich.

Thanks @toddrjohnson, glad you enjoyed it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 61113.87
ETH 2682.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46