Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #47 | Weird Sandwich Week! Whats up, Bean?

IMG_8092 (2).JPG

Good day my fellow Sandwich creators! It’s Weird Sandwich Week! A big thanks to @jaybird for hosting and sponsoring the 47th Steemit Sandwich Contest. I’m excited to see the extreme creations for this week.


When I read @jaybirds post for this week and noticed the theme was “Weird” there was no hesitation about what I would make.


This sandwich my friends, has been handed down from my father-in-law to my husband.


I have to admit, the first time I witnessed this sandwich being made and consumed I was a bit surprised. For you see, these guys LOVE this sandwich….not sure why, but I am glad to share it with you today. Perhaps there will be others who share this same love. In fact, I would love to hear your favorite recipes (if you dare share!)


todaysjourney.jpg

The Spicy Maple Sugar Bacon Bean Sandwich!


I used

  • 1 small package dried navy beans
  • 3/4 lb thick sliced Hickory Smoked Bacon
  • 1 onion (diced)
  • 3/4 cup Maple syrup (to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon Sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 3 tablespoons Sriracha sauce
  • 1 teaspoon Mustard
  • 1 cup Ketchup
  • Mayo
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • Avocado
  • Favorite Poppy/Sesame Seed Rolls
  • Holiday cheer!

I will never forget visiting the in laws early in our marriage only to find my father-in-law parading through the kitchen with a huge smile on his face and LARGE pan in his hand….he had prepare his special Maple Bacon Bean Sandwich specialty! I thought it was a cook-out…..No! This was his sandwich creation for the week!


  • Soak navy beans overnight. Simmer over stove for 1 ½ hours (until tender). Remove from heat, drain and save liquid!
  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees
  • Pour half of the beans in casserole dish. Layer half of onion and bacon on top of beans. Repeat with remaining beans, bacon and onions

IMG_8049 (2).JPG

  • Place remaining ingredients in saucepan. Stir and bring it to boil for 2 minutes. Remove from heat.
  • Pour sauce over beans, covering all beans. Pour enough bean liquid in casserole so that all beans are covered. Cover casserole

IMG_8059 (2).JPG

  • Bake for 3 hours. Remove lid at 1 1/2 hours, add bean liquid (you don’t want the beans to dry out!) Continue baking without the lid!

IMG_8083 (2).JPG

Now the sandwich!

  • Toast the rolls, add a little mayo on each slice! Add a couple of slices of Avocado, top with a generous serving of Maple Bacon Beans!

Enjoy!

IMG_8107 (2).JPG

Looks tasty! Right? Needless to say, Mr. Bird is loving this today! (Had to have a 2nd!!) He'll be in sandwich heaven for a few days!

IMG_8102 (2).JPG

Thanks again @jaybird, Good luck to all!

And as always, blessings to all!

loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

echotrain.jpg

Sort:  

Oh my! Don’t think we had this too much growing up? Didn’t even know about it! Hilarious to hear the story of grandpa thrown in there. Weird but good!! Xoxo

No, your papa bird always liked to sleuth around with the leftovers....any chance he could :) true story I promise! He was so proud...lol

My mouth is watering seeing the picture of the baked beans. I would be super happy eating this masterpiece!

You are so nice @loveself! Thank you! When jaybird asked for weird....I have always thought it weird that they liked this sandwich...just had to share, lol

Oh ya lol, love this & love how it’s an original fam recipe too!

Bacon & beans... i mean that’s a great. Combo eh, the maple syrup add mmmm.

Very interesting prep for this 1. Not what i expected!

Nice entry birdie!

Thanks @jaybird...I know, but you asked for wierd! lol

Never seen a sandwich like this but I think I would love it, Maybe its a guy thing lOL

My husband is currently laughing over this comment! Perhaps you're right? You'll have to try it sometime! :) Thanks!

@birdsinparadise Ohh I plan to try it or a slight variation of it soon

This sounds great granny Bird, real baked beans with that bacon...yummy!

Thanks so much @lizelle, your Elvis sandwich made me really giggle! Fun stuff!

Looks good to me, feed me hahaha

You are so kind, thanks for stopping by. Pretty simple to make... and weird! lol

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-02T17:22:45
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 466.25/200.00
Total Photos: 75
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34