Steemit sandwich contest week 39: a Malaysian twist to puff pastry

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

Hello once more to the great people of steemit,
Today I'll make making a enclose sandwich for the ssc. I know last week I have said that I have post the last post that incorporate a little of my food culture, but I though there is so much to share with the world! So why stop then? That brings me here making a sandwich with a little Malaysian twist. The idea comes from a famous Malaysian snack called Kari puff, it translates to curry puff( if you couldn't tell). This popular food is usually eaten as a snack or even for breakfast. What's special about this snack is mainly in its "puff". As all of us know, in western countries puff pastry is widely use in almost any savoury dish from beef wellington to salmon in puff pastry. For those whose are not familiar with this product, it's a pastry that is extremely flaky and tender. This texture is mainly achieved by separating each layer of dough with butter. For Malaysian like me, we have our own version of puff pastry. The concept is similar but it has a totally different procedure to make it. All explain more with pictures below so don't worry. By the way, Chinese cuisine also use this technique for many of their pastry too! the reason I choose to make a puff pastry sandwich is because if I am to go for a picnic for Spring,I can imagine that this would be a great snack!

I present to you: Spring in an envelope

BRAISED MUSHROOMS, CARROTS, SWEET PEAS, POTATO, ONIONS IN CREAM SAUCE
image.jpeg

The "Asian " puff pastry

image.jpeg

First we have to make two type of dough, one is called water dough because it a dough with water to develope the gluten in it. The other one is called oil dough, because it's only made with flour and oil. For this version I used garlic oil to add a additional flavour.

image.jpeg

Next is to flatten out the water dough so that we can use it to wrap the oil dough.

image.jpeg

Afters wrapping the oil dough, roll it to form a sphere with the palm of your hand. Then roll the sphere flat like the photo above.

image.jpeg

Next is to roll it up like how you would roll a cigar. You should end up like the picture above. Then roll it flat again. By this step you are creating at least 5 layer of dough overlapping each other. Thanks to the oil dough, each layer of water dough is kept sale rated by the oil dough, and this is the starting of how you create that puffy layers. Repeat this step of roll is like a cigar and flattening at least 3 time to create more layers. More layer equals puffier pastry.

image.jpeg

At the end it should look like that. I would chill it so that it's easier to work with but if you are pressed for time you can use it immediately. The good thing about this type of puff pastry is we are not using butter that means chilling in not a must!

Fillings

image.jpeg

Ingredients: sweet peas, potato, trumpet mushrooms, carrots, onions, garlic, cream, Rosemary, minced chicken.
The cooking part is pretty straight forward. I sautéed all the vegetable and meat to achieve a nice caramelise colour before adding cream and rosemary to braised for half an hour.

Constructing the sandwich

image.jpeg

Roll out the puff pastry dough into a round shape.

image.jpeg

Add fillings.

image.jpeg

Before entering the preheated oven, I have brush some egg wash on the surface. It took me about 30minute of baking time.

And walla the final product

Not sure if it's clear enough, but if you can see the puff pastry is puffy, tender, and crispy!!
image.jpeg

That's all for now, thank you all for r adding my blog!
And as always it would be nice if you could leave your honest feedback!

Sort:  

Great idea! I like your thought behind it. Check my post as well

I shouldn't look at your posts when I'm hungry. Delicious. I can taste it from here!

Hahaha, too bad I can't ship it to you. Thanks for the compliment!!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Man that final picture wooooweeee!

Looks awesome, great stuffing combo as well! It kind of reminds me of a Jamaican Beef Patty lol... Although I honestly think I;d enjoy eating your creation more!

Man your right, just googled it. It looks exactly the same!

I can just imagine biting into the flakey and tender crust of your sandwich and tasting all the vegetables with chicken in the creamy garlic sauce perfumed with rosemary. Nice post!

Thanks, for the lovely compliment @loveself

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51