Foster parent

Honestly, I am not sure where to start with this story but here it goes! Foster parents are a little blessing to those babies and children in need, I know this first hand! Why you might ask, well I didn't do it for the money that I could have received from the state but for the sake of the child that I took into my home. I didn't get any services handed to me nor did I go looking for any. A friend of a friend was in a deep dark place with drugs and alcohol and was unable to care for her daughter (here is when friend stepped in). At that time in my like I was a special education teacher and a friend reached out to me for help! It didn't take me more then a second to say yes to helping out this little girl (7) and provide for her .
She turned my world upside down and I wouldn't have it any other way! I was able to give her opportunities she would never have gotten with her mother in the stage she was in. This little girl was my everything! Did I mention I was a single woman on a teacher salary?! I figured it out! But heartbreakingly the maternal grandmother stepped up and wanted to care for her granddaughter. So after 8 months with me, I had to return her to her grandmother. Sad right! I agree. But that's not the end, a year later, grandma fell ill and was unable to care for my angel and again I was asked to care for her due to "mom" still addicted. I was now living in a new state, new job (still teaching, still single) immediately said yes! I had to move to a new apartment in less then a week and get everything ready for her arrival. I had arranged her to fly up to me, enroll her in school and by the grace of God get signed documents from the mother for my temporary custody to provide everything for her. Prior to her arrival, my friend had a surprise foster mom shower for me with gifts to make angel feel comfortable and welcomed. When people say it takes a village to raise a child, I can't agree more! The support we received can not be thanked enough! Steemit people can truly understand the meaning of support!
I was blessed to have cared for, love, appreciate, laugh, cry, humbled enough to care for a little girl even for a glimpse (in total 2.5 years) for an amazing child! I was again heartbroken when her mother was ready to be her mom again. I will forever remember our time together, lessons taught and learned. I will always love her as my own! To all the foster parents out there that do it for the right reasons, you rock! I applaud your love, effort, care, and endless devotion to the well being of children! I haven't learned how to add pics yet but she is beautiful!!!

Sort:  

Not many people are willing to volunteer for such a big responsibility. It must have been hard to let her go.
P.S. Here is info you might be interested in, at least it helped me a lot - including how to add photos ;) https://guides.github.com/features/mastering-markdown/

Congratulations @jrsyjenn! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @jrsyjenn! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49