@mermaidvampire´s Writing Contest: What Would You Do If You Were A Steemit Whale?

in #steemitpowerupph6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians!

This is a cool challenge and a wake-up call for all Steemit Whales! I am thanking @mermaidvampire for initiating this one!

I never dream of becoming a Steemit whale someday.. I am a crafter at heart and as a crafter, I just want to blog about ideas, hobbies and life in general.... just like the way I used to share my blogs previously in other social media the last five years even without being compensated. I never knew anything about Steemit until a crypto buddy from FB days @otom asked me to join this platform. Since then, I´ve been blogging to date and never got tired sharing ideas here to the best of my knowledge. I, @otom and @trisun founded the group called Steemit Power Up helping newcomers to join this platform. Our motivation behind is not just monetary but also help newbies thread their ways in the steemit jungle. Steem and SBD are at a dip at the moment and since then a lot of Steemians left, others simply stopped posting for they believe it isn´t worth the long hours of producing a blog when the compensation is just some laughable cents. I couldn´t blame them, the long hours of sitting to produce a blog for Steemit is really a serious matter.

Pic-sw-killer-whale-adaptations-01--400x350.jpg
Source

I am under the opinion that the Steemit ecosystem is really in trouble... a lot of whales and non whales organized bid bots that sell upvotes to steemians and some of them are greedy. I have read about the flagging actions of whales vs. whales that are abusing the pool rewards and sadly we can say some of these allegations are true. To be on the Trending site, some users buy votes worth 1000.+SBDs. I remember there used to be limitations on amount a user could send to a bid bot for a post, but there is no control anymore. It´s like there´s a ramble in the system. Nobody cares whether good post are voted and get compensated. That´s why I can understand hundreds if not thousands of steemians are leaving or have left the platform already and or became inactive. With the continued dipping of Steem and SBD, some more Steemians are following suit.

And so to answer the challenge of @mermaidvampire ....if I would be a whale, I would build a community inviting other whales to join forces to combat the bid Bots. Join forces to promote planktons and minnows who write good posts to curate their work and give them proper motivation by upvoting them big. Sure there are curation trails, but they normally upvote their own members and some trails are from a paid bot that are curating for paying users. Also , devs, witnesses, whales in the top 30 should ask @ned to revise the system and abolish vote buying from Bots.

My only advice to everyone is to continue posting. If you have nothing to post at the moment, then simply interact and comment on other´s posts. Continue to hodl and time will come and Steem and SBD will be bullish again and you´ll be glad you didn´t stop steeming. With the new steemit condensers , we might be able to earn a bit, so keep on hodling!

I maybe far from reality! To abolish vote buying is as good as winning a lotto and for as long as there is supply and demand, bid bots will continue to make business at the expense of the small Steemians!!! Inviting @sarimanok to join us here and please do drop some notes on the above challenge.

Contest Ref: https://steemit.com/contest/@mermaidvampire/writing-contest-what-would-you-do-if-you-were-a-steemit-whale-39a555aa1c3fbest

@mers

Sort:  

that is very touching haha...i was about to quit steemit at that time when i saw your blogs somewhere and decided to drag you to steemit and when you finally get into steeming and saw your first pay out i left because i know you can do it!, see?, you're now a steemit evangelist. cheers!

Yeah, I remember that. You said you're going to concentrate on cryptos.. hahaha steemit evangelist on a platform where anything goes.Matira matibay... Lol!

Posted using Partiko Android

I will never surrender and abandon steemit because I learned a lot of things,I earned and I met people who accepted me just as I am.Thank you Ingmday @mers for your touching post. You are a whale to me.Someone told me so negative about you but I didn't judge until I open myself the book about you and @otom And I got no mistake

Never give up .. matira matibay is our motto..in the end we will prevail.. thank you Deevi!

Posted using Partiko Android

You are wlcome inday

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Yes walang mawala sa atin at we enjoy ourselves in.posting like a real.blogger

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeey, may this happen as soon as possible... change change! For the goodness of all!

Indeed dear friend... hopefully changes are coming.

Posted using Partiko Android

@mers Infinitas gracias por esas palabras, no tengo mucho en Steemit y sentía las ganas de no continuar. Pero al leer tu post me doy cuenta de que hay gente preocupada por las nuevas personas que ingresan a Steemit. De verdad que es muy agradable cuando alguien se detiene y lee tu post y te apoya y no te obvia. Te bendigo y gracias. Si así lo deseas sígueme y conóceme.

Gracias por tomarse el tiempo para leer mi publicación. Viniste en un momento en que Steemit está en su punto más bajo. Pero llegará el momento en que se levantará nuevamente. Muchos nuevos usuarios se detenían porque quieren dinero rápido en forma de cryptos ... Pero no tendrán éxito porque en Steemit también puedes interactuar con otras personas que quieran aprender el uno del otro ... Así que espero que te quedes y seguir interactuando en esta plataforma.

Posted using Partiko Android

At the back of my mind i also want to give up steemit ,but when i met people in SPP like you and the rest of the gang ..sabi ko hndi din ako bibitiw..let us hold on and continue to love this community where i gained a lot of learnings and new friends too.😊.....!!!!

Glad you are staying.. you should not give up.there are lots of nice people on steemit to interact with.. wag mawalan ng pag asa... darating din tayo dun

Posted using Partiko Android

I came to Steemit for the reason, and every day I love it more, seeing this type of publications I fell more in love with the platform, I hope to meet the valuable people, I reject this page and it is certainly very good, thanks

Thank you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow. This was a huge read. I learned alot from this oo.. very apt and informative post. Now I know a little of the history of steemit as a platform. The whale wars part got me.. hahaha

Thanks for writing this. 😇😇😇😇😇

You are welcome and thanks for taking the time to read this.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for coming Fatima..

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @mers, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

it is a dream of every steemer... very nice contest.... appreciable

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you.

Posted using Partiko Android

you're most welcome mers...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60843.64
ETH 2711.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43