SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry: Going up

These tiny lizards can move quickly and erratically, but after a few dozen attempts using high shutter speeds I finally got two in the frame where I wanted them:


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f8, 1/320s

I haven't picked my next entries yet, but they will probably all be lizards, as the only reptiles seen in my region are viviparous lizards (Zootoca vivipara) and common European adders (Vipera berus), and the latter refuse to pose for me 8-). Also, the entries will all be older photos, as there are no reptiles to be found in this season here.

Bonus picture, not for the challenge:


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/160s

Sort:  

Great photo. Good luck in the challenge!

Ooh I love these! Your reptile pictures are way better than mine :D

Meh. I probably just had more chances of photographing them, as they are plentiful here in summer in the Aamsveen. If you sit still long enough in front of a high, sunny spot, they come out and pose.

That's so awesome, sounds like a place I'd want to visit. I think I'll have to tell my boyfriend we need to spend a weekend around those parts! Many things to visit :D

Bring boots (and DEET if you are coming in summer)! The Aamsveen is a peat bog and the ground can be quite soggy.

Ooh, good advice. I have learned to appreciate DEET, ever since we visited a mosquito invested lake in Scotland...

It takes a lot of focus to take photos when your arms are covered in mosquitos ... See https://steemit.com/photography/@ocrdu/photographing-dragonflies-the-easy-way

Haha, yes, I believe you! After a while, I'd get so crancky, I would probably give up and run away...

See the edited comment. It can be well worth it ...

Wow, indeed it can be. That's an amazing shot. I've captured dragonflies on camera a couple of times when they landed on the plants around my mum's garden pond. You have to be pretty patient to get a good shot.

Really love that black and white shot!

Glad you like it! It took me over an hour of failed attempts to get it as I wanted it.

I sense a winner :)

Gorgeous shots. The color one is really detailed. Bummer when they won't hold still for the camera. Good luck in the challenge, I agree with @shieha, you may be a winner...the BW is a real interesting contrast of shapes/textures with the fencepost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35