Steemit Photo Challenge 24 (Entry 1) "Christian Island Georgian Bay Ontario"

"It Looks Soooooooooo Far...........Should I go or Not"?


Does he really want to do this? (photo by The Old Dog)

What's The Story Behind This Photograph?

Christian island is one of the largest of the archipelago which dot Georgian Bay in Ontario, Canada. It can only be reached by boat and there are few cars on the island. If a little boy wants to go to the general store, which lies on the opposite side, he'd better be prepared to walk. 

The distance, the heat, the mosquitos, the black flies and the dusty roads are the obstacles. The reward? Ice-cream! Was it worth it? Y E S !


The largest of the islands is Christian Island. It has a small population of First Nation residents and some seasonal cottagers. (photo environment Canada). I've had a chance to visit it and several of the other uninhabited islands.


What long walks have you taken in order to receive a small reward?

The best answer gets paid! (see my post signature note)


I hope that you enjoyed this photograph and experience.


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, I reward the best comment(s) on each of my posts with my "The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" program! So please re-steem and follow so that we can spread the wealth!     

Sort:  

My longest walk was in 1972 - It was the Miles for Millions walk in Hamilton Ontario, 35 miles or 56km. The money donated by pledge was for Hunger - I'm not sure what organization was used (I'm thinking UNICEF). My total pledges if I completed the walk was $50.
The reward? To cross the finish line even though it wasn't a race. I was too young at 16 to appreciate the importance or purpose of the walk. It was all about me and my feet. I wish I could say I had starving people on my mind as I struggled to get through it.

Thanks for the story. I remeber doing those sponsored walks too!

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" For your nice comment! Please check your wallet.

Thanks for the "walk" down memory lane!

Hahaha! My longest walk has been my life's journey @kus-knee.
It started when I was about a year old and I have been walking every day since.
Some days it feels like, for very little reward and I have fallen a few times and scraped both my knees and sometimes I'm a little wobblier than I'd like, but I just pick myself up, dust off and keep putting one foot in front of the other...
Most days the reward is fantastic because I get to keep walking the next day.
It's a very cool process with lots of adventure along the way.
(Oh, the cold of beautiful Georgian Bay.)
Nice photo of the long walk.

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" For your nice comment! Please check your wallet.

"pick yourself up, dust yourself off and start all over again!" Very true and you're a good example!

Good points! There is a beach on that coast of that island that rivals the caribbean!

Cool Photography!

Thanks for coming by!

cool post! love a photo with a story to tell.

Thanks for having a look!

no problem thank's for sharing!

@kus-knee the longest walk I took was the hike to Batad Banaue Rice Terraces in the Philippines - 3.5 hours ascending and 4 hours descending (due to leg ache and the dimming environment)

The reward - I got to behold this man made work of art by my ancestors , eat a black chicken curry (cost 5 times than the usual cause takes that hike to get all the ingredients and to transport them - this place is so remote and road is very very steep). Get to see what's life out there, walk along the terraces and finally touch the rice plants - shallow but hey, it was worth it to get to see this in person.

Good luck with your entry - it's one good shot!

Very interesting. It's true that the descent is often more difficult!

@kus-knee thank you I just want to answer hahaha for fun :)
EDIT : you also love gardening I remember - maybe you could give the flower questions in my post a guess, too? :D

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" For your nice comment! Please check your wallet.

Thanks for the great pictures and story!

@kus-knee wow!
there's a prize ! thank you - you generous Old Dog!

Hahaha ! I would do it for ice cream ! 🍧🍦🍨 Everybody Loves Ice Cream !😙😋🍦

I don't remember what was the longest walk. I can say for you that tuesday i climbed about 1000 meters high to take some pics in a Verruca's fortress. I thought to give up at the end way, but when i arrived i wasn't tired anymore, and my reward was the stunning landscape, energy's place and victory sense about my limits. (;

Ho visto le foto! It was worth it!

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" For your nice comment! Please check your wallet.

A me piace molto le foto che vedo sul tuo blog! Thanks for your experience about hiking to the castle!

Grazie mille amico! Oggi leccherò tutto il giorno questo delicioso osso che mi hai dato! Thanks so much! (;

Good one!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64