Steemit Photo Challenge #48 - Ocean - Entry 1 - 'Heavenly Ocean'

in #steemitphotochallenge7 years ago (edited)

Here is my 1st entry to the #steemitphotochallenge #48 for the theme Ocean.

Title: 'Heavenly Ocean
This is a shot of the beautiful ocean surrounding Lady Elliot Island, an eco island sanctuary that was built to protect the thriving species in this southernmost region of Great Barrier Reef, Australia. It is literally a haven for all living things, both above and below the water.

SteemitPhotoChallenge_water_kuenok-06867-3.jpg
Sony A7RM2 | 28mm with 16mm Fisheye Converter |
1/640sec f/3.5 ISO100

And lastly if I could, as this week's theme holds strongly in my heart, if you'd like to see more of these beauties of our ocean, please feel free to follow my #onebreathonephoto series.

Thank you @jamtaylor for running this awesome project and @berniesanders for sponsoring.

Looking forward to contributing more to the #steemitphotochallenge!

Have a great day! 😃


2nd entry | 3rd entry

Sort:  

Very nice, I almost always like these split views that can normally only provided by domes or water proof cases. Did you have to manually focus the lens here?

Thanks @rockjon, I use the Aquatech housing for my camera, and yes with the huge dome to get these split shots! When I'm taking animals im usually using continuous-AF, but this particular shot I was playing with the back button focus method to keep focus just on the edge of the dome without it jumping back and forth. Still learning this method actually!

Ah ok, I was wondering how you handled focusing in that environment. Since I have the same camera as you, I was trying to figure out how you're able to focus on subjects that lack contrast for the AF to pick up like the water in this photo.

P. Sherman 42 Wallaby Way, Sidney... That pop in my head every single time I heard "The Great Barrier Reef"... Maybe watching Finding Nemo gave me PTSD.... 😂

Haha it's definitely one of my favourites! Finding Dory was a dissapointment tho.

Agree with you! Let's hope Finding Marlin be a good movie, until then "just keep swimming" 🎶.... Ha! .... I will stop now...

Such a great photo, I'd like to use it for my desktop :D

Thank you @anna-redhead, if you'd like I could paste a link here to the res of your desktop. In exchange for one of your epic pics ofcourse :)

Sure, let me know which one you like :D

this is outstanding ! congrats on the winning

Thank you!

🌷Wow! Excellent photography! Congrats!

Thank you @nomads, I'm glad you like it! Your journey is epic btw, all the best!

This theme has your name written all over it.

Haha thanks, I love this theme so much that I don't know which to choose! It's a bit tricky to resist re-using any from the #onebreathonephoto series 😅

I can imagine. Since this picture is half in the water and half out, maybe you can choose one picture that is fully submerged and one that is above the water. They could from a triptych.

That's a great idea, I'll give that a try to show three diff view of the ocean I wish I had a drone for aerials!

That would definitely be cool.

Congratulations @kuenok! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70