SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry (SPC22) - SalvificsteemCreated with Sketch.


Okay, so it's not exactly Christ the Redeemer, but I guess every iconography related to Jesus Christ can be considered sacred, right? I'm a huge fan of the Steemit Photo Challenge and photos here on Steemit, so much that I was the one responsible for suggesting using photographs as prompts for #descriptionsonthespot. (Oh, yeah, hold on to your hats, it's going to make a comeback) But, this is the first time that I'm submitting an entry to the challenge.

I've always fancied myself as more of a storyteller through words rather than visuals, so I don't have sophisticated equipment to aid me. This image was shot using my Lenovo S90, and all the feel-good emotions one can muster. Since my words were drained by NaNoWriMo, I decided to express myself through a different medium for a change.

I won't babble too much, but let me just set the scene. This statue, which stands about 15 meters, I think (don't trust me, I'm terrible at math), is located near the entrance of the cemetery where @randomli's parents are laid to their eternal rest. I took the shot because of the birds resting on the statue's shoulder, but I couldn't help but notice that the sun was angled directly at his head, which kind of looks like a halo.

I used to be very religious when I was young, but have become agnostic as I grew up, but that's a story for a different time. It's ironic because I decided to enter the challenge right when the theme is "sacred."

Sort:  

Hi there! I noticed you on @ezzy's comment page a couple of times and I thought to myself "Wow, he writes really well, I need to check him out." So finally I'm here and I just read your NaNoWriMo post and let me just tell you, it was fantastic. Did you make your 50,000 word deadline? I would be really interested in reading what you wrote. That article was one of the best of its kind that I've ever read (and I've read many how-to's on writing as well as how to get things done) :)

Oh, hey @dreemit! I didn't know anybody even noticed this post haha Thanks for noticing it, I really appreciate it :D Not a lot of people noticed the NaNo article as well, so it's cool of you to revisit it. To answer your question, I did make the 50,000 word deadline, thanks for asking! :D I published my result on another users post as a comment. Strangely enough, it seems my comments receive more attention than my actual posts.

Honestly, I've been a bit discouraged with posting because of the lack of interaction my posts receive. I planned to post my NaNo story at the beginning of January. I'm a bit terrified that not a lot of people would read it, so I delayed posting it, but your comment is very encouraging. Gives me hope that at least 2 people here (@ezzy included) will read it.

I noticed you followed me, and because of this comment, I returned the favor. Since I don't receive a lot of interaction on my posts, I really appreciate those who take the time to leave their thoughts. Looking forward to more interaction in the future, and I'm excited to read more of your posts as well!

What I've learned in the three and a half weeks I've been here? Comments are key. And posting is something you have to do almost every day if not every day. It's work, haha! I mainly joined to find an outlet for my Playground series then quickly realized I better blog if I wanted anyone to notice me. It's fortunate this time of year affords me the time I needed to get this going (well except this week with Christmas coming, I've been a bit less active other than yesterday, not even sure if I'll have something to post today I'm on delivery detail with our business) I'm still learning, but one thing I've noticed is that you get more recognition from repetition-such as the post with my brother on guitar, or my Playground series after I'd written a couple-the ones like the first post I put up yesterday are largely passed over. When you put your story up my tips for you are first write an introduction post for it. Spend some time commenting on people's post around that time so your more fresh on their mind, and make sure you use the same picture for every chapter-like ezzy does, he's the reason I noticed that being a "thing" here. Especially since you're not posting anything else, I would make sure to put a chapter up every other day at least. After your first one is there spend more time commenting to people. And don't be discouraged if the first chapter or even few chapters don't get large recognition at first, it will catch on. Especially since you are truly a proficient writer! I'm in the same boat as you actually, I have a book I've been working on that I'm thinking of starting to post in a couple weeks-it is a bit nerve wracking!

You've only been here for three and a half weeks and you've already posted a lot? Wow, that's impressive! I don't know if I agree with comments being key, since I take the time to leave thoughtful comments and they only get noticed half the time. I think you're the first follower that I got from a comment! lol

I was very active during my first months, but got completely burned out, that's why I dialed it back when I returned to Steemit. Admittedly, I did most of your tips during those first weeks, well except for the regular posting thing. It was harder then since there was no follow feature. I spent hours commenting and interacting with people, but I received very little in return. A friend advised me to adjust my expectations, so I did. Admittedly though, I still get a bit bothered when some posts get, let's say for example an intro I saw earlier with $100+ and 200+ views that mostly talked about his thoughts on Steemit, while the intro I did before only received 38 votes and $0.28. But, not as much as before though. I'm truly happy for the success they received, I just wish it was more spread around.

I've started reading your Playground series, and I'll leave my thoughts on your latest entry. It's great to discover another awesome writer here, I'm glad you took the time to leave a comment on my post! Trust that I would be following your series closely as well. :D

I think I see the problem. I happen to really enjoy longer comments, this type of discourse allows me to actually get to know the individual I'm interacting with. And I can see you're that way as well. Here's the thing-most people don't have the...we'll call it attention span. It could just be that they're very busy and long comments are daunting because there's a certain expectation for them to reply in kind. Or it could be that they would feel exposed and are afraid to. There are many reasons it could be, but the bottom line is comments do work, but they have to be short and sweet. For example "Wow, this was great (point out one thing, not everything, just one thing that you liked) I look forward to your next post!" That's it. This way they feel flattered but not overwhelmed. There are exceptions like myself and @ezzy, and I'm sure there are more, but overall it's wisest to go that route. You'll discover the ones like you and me along the way ;)
As for the money, as far as I know it's a problem with favoritism by the whales, which the hardfork is supposed to eventually have an impact on (depending how many of these whales have opted to power down with the price of steem on the decline in combination with the huge cut in curation rewards) But we won't really see the difference until a few months from now since that's how long it takes to power down. It's a good think money is not my incentive either way, haha! It's nice of course, but I really enjoy this platform regardless ;)
Oh, those last few sentences you wrote? Perfect example of a comment you would leave to most people haha! Thank you for saying that, I look forward to your thoughts :)

Haha! That's what my friend pointed out as well, so thanks for backing up that suggestion :) I actually leave short comments nowadays, but it's nice to be reminded to not go overboard with it.

Money's not really my main incentive here either, rather it's the interaction and the chance to discover great original work, like yours and @ezzy's. That's why I'm glad we stumbled upon each other. I've had the worst luck discovering people who interact, percentage-wise, but I'm glad it's picking up recently :D

Of course it's entirely possible you've done exactly what I suggested, so I have to say it also depends on the post. If it's an individual who gets a lot of feedback consistently then you'll have to also be consistent in commenting to them to be noticed. If it's someone who doesn't you're more likely to be noticed right off the bat. Not sure if I'm helping, haha!

As I mentioned, I've done a lot of the things that you suggested, but it's nice to be reminded, since I don't do it all of the time. I guess "consistency is key" is a more apt encapsulation of everything. I'm a very appreciative person, so any help is huge, and I'm very grateful for you taking the time to list them :D

Really enjoyed that read and loved your picture :)

Thanks! I really appreciate the compliment. It had such a disappointing outcome though. Almost zero readership on its first payout. But, as I said, we can't hit homeruns all the time :)

Its a shame when a good piece gets missed. We will get there one day :)

But hey, if all the people who have unnoticed posts banded together and supported each other, then our posts won't go unnoticed anymore :)

Good idea, I'm in :)

That's great to hear then!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30