Water... Please... Too Far... 🌀 Steemit Photo Challenge 35 (Entry 2)

in #steemitphotochallenge7 years ago (edited)


I almost learned the hard way, so please DO NOT go walking around here without loads of water, a cell phone, and some kind of transportation nearby. (I could have seriously hurt myself, if not for a guy in an old VW Hippie bus who had frozen juices, after I ran out of water... B"H/ ב"ה!)


(Captured with a Galaxy Note 2.)


Because it's like a giant bowl where the air can barely move, at 428 or so meters, or 1200 feet below sea level, this Judaean Desert around the Dead Sea was upwards of 40 deg C. or, 110ish deg F. during the day, (in July.) With the extra atmospheric pressure, the humidity, and any form of exertion whatsoever, one immediately becomes sopping wet with sweat. Also, if you go into the sea, the salt remaining on your skin afterwards, literally condenses water out of the air, and you cannot get dry until you wash the salt off. 


I did not go to a tourist area, so there were no showers, and I sweated and pulled water from the air for hours after my swim. The brutal walk up from the sea to the road, and the bus ride to Jerusalem were physically unforgettable. Thank G-d for the Juice Hippie! It's hard to believe, but the t-shirt I was wearing, became encrusted with a thin layer of salt, and it pulled water from the air for days, until I washed it. (I wanted to see if the salt would continue to grow too.) Days later, the salt on my white t-shirt was even a pale purple colour!


Thank you for considering this photo, for your upvotes, comments and resteems! And thanks to @jamtaylor and everyone who participates and supports the running of Steemit Photo Challenge #35!

Thanks For Your Attention and Support!

Melech ben Chaya מלך בן חיה, @inphiknit

Sort:  

Reminds me of those documentaries about people who get lost in the desert areas of the Australian outback!

You mean the silly ones like me?!

Lol - actually I would probably do it too because I tend to be quite impulsive!

It was pretty dumb to not think of myself as a tourist, when in that specific place, that's exactly what I was... an ignorant, foolish tourist... 2 litres of water is just a drip in the desert... DON'T DO IT!~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82