You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 📷 SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry#2 Glamour / Fashion - Are fashion models too skinny?📷

It's all about settings unrealistic standards that regular humans just can not maintain.
Years ago I had a lot of contact with girls struggling with eating disorders. They compared themselves with super skinny perfect bodies in magazines, forgetting that it's not only the 1% of tallest and slimmest humans that exist, but also product of heavy postprocess in PS.
You just can't compare to this.

On the other side, now I see that we are moving in totally opposite direction -> all these XXL models and "fat acceptance movements". I guess it's the result of pushing for superskinny for too long.

So we are jumping from role models with single digit body fat, to models that half consist of fat.

Health is in the middle. But as average is probably not too interesting ;)

Sort:  

I could not agree to you more, it's all about the extremes. It's all about the desire to stand out and it's being pushed by the industry all the times harshly. At first they push Barbie dolls with unrealistic proportions to little girls, then they are being influence by heavily photoshoped images (which i do myself) and then it breaks and flips to a other bad extreme. Obesity and extreme fat levels... Looks like people have no middle.

I'm lucky to be an amateur with camera :-)
Thanks to this I could limit retouch to removing some temporary imperfections on the skin, like pimples, and making dark circles under the eyes a bit less obvious, and that's it.
I didn't make anyone slimmer for at least three years now :D

And I love this boring middle, real humans.

I love them too, just have this crazy style popping out sometimes, that makes me want to do them almost aliens lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72