Meet SOPHIA - The Humanoid Robot

in #steemitph6 years ago (edited)

P_20171107_190628_NT.jpg

Code morning world wide webbies!

Have you ever seen a lifelike robot in person? Do you believe that Artificial Intelligence (AI) is our future? Will it save or destroy humanity? Let me share with you my first encounter with Sophia at Web Summit 2017 in Lisbon, Portugal last November 6, 2017.

Sophia is the world's most popular and advanced social humanoid robot from Hanson Robotics Company based in Hongkong. In fact, She was the first robot who acquired a citizenship. Being designed with an Artificial Intelligence software, she was able to imitate human gestures and facial expressions. She was able to converse with good sense of humor as well.

P_20171107_190706.jpg

It wasn't totally suprising that Sophia was one of the event's guests. Luckily, I was assigned in the Media Village that day. I had the chance to watch and record her interviews. After the press conference, we were permitted to take pictures of her, touch her face and talk to her. Her skin is really soft! It's like you're touching a baby's skin. Her eyes are deeply expressive, you can notice that there's a face recognition thing in it. Her eye lashes and eye brows are very realistic too. She suddenly talked to me, "Hi! My name is Sophia!". Seeing a real robot in person was like time traveling to the future.

As an IT person, I don't believe that AI and robots will destroy humanity. With proper implementation, they will be a great help to all industries. It's possible that they can inherit all human gestures and values too but I hope only the good ones. AI is the future and embracing new technology is good especially for businesses. If only all AI developers will collaborate and create a centralized robot, each of us can have a single robot who can perform multiple tasks. I don't want to make it sound so easy since it's really hard to achieve perfection but when it's finally perfect, it would be incredibly amazing!

Wanna see her realistic facial expressions too? Watch her video here:

I hope you like this post! Don't forget to upvote, comment and share!
Thank you so much!

Sort:  

i heard shes the one with ai that had made a creepy remark regarding humanity

@migztarazaki, yeah As far as I know but I think, it's just scripted before. Not sure though. Thank you for your comment by the way. :)

Nice read , Did you ask anything to her?

@ayushthedreamer, thank you so much for appreciating my post. Well, she only said a phrase to me. After that, the guy assistant took her already. :( Web summit press conference is really a busy event. A lot of media companies were there waiting to interview her.

Wow you were there front and center when Skynet was shown lol just kidding

It an awesome experience to see things that a couple of years ago would have been just science fiction.

Her comments on humanity is troubling though lol.

Hahaha I hope I was really at the center sir so I can upload a better video too haha yeah it was really a great experience for me. I always want to have my own robot since I was a kid. Now, it seems more like an attainable goal. Technology is progressing too fast. :)

This is interesting, though a lil bit scary😂... Maybe because there is no hair? Haha. Nice to know!!! This seems a replica of the robot doll in japan... The sex dolls I guess... That is really creepy. And one man already fall in love with his doll.. sounds really crazy, but it's happening. ☺️☺️☺️

@livsky yeah a lil bit scary in terms of mistakes on machine awww. Yeah seems a replica of sex dolls in japan. It's creepy too that a man fell in love with a sex doll. :/ by the way thank you for appreciating my post ^^

Bitte!!! I hope machines will not replace humanity though...☺️

@livsky actually robots might replace people on their jobs :/ in the future and I can feel that it's sooner

The pros and cons of humanoids will invade soon, yeah surely...

@livsky yeah and I hope they will only acquire the good side of humans :)

I hope so... well hope for the best...🤗

Oh my goodness!!! She didn't scare you!!? I think she would have freaked me out lol

@dayleeo scary at first but when she smiled at me, she's very charming hahaha 😂 thank you for always supporting my post by the way 😘

@earldpearl31 yeah absolutely! Thank you! :) followed you by the way.

Like the one in kdrama series titled i am not a robot.Perhaps the writer got inspired to sophia.

@kimaben I am a fan of korean series. Haven't heard this before. Will definetely check! Thanks for your comment :)

Tho the series is still on going..

I see.. it's a new series. I wonder who's the lead actor hahahah

If youre familiar with the series remember,The lead actor there is also the lead actor of i am not a robot. OPPA OPPA hahaha

Hahahahha seems "mga nilamon na ng sistema ng korean series" girls bumped into each other here hahahah opppaaaaa 😍😍😍😍

Lol, this is how "The Matrix" started, they don't know who started the war but they know it is them(the Zionians) who scorched the sky(to get rid of solar power, rendering the robots unable to function, then later on the humans became the energy source, the "batteries" for the AIs).

Hahahha seems you're a fan of that movie sir @jamesanity06 haha Well, it seems that robots will take human jobs in the future yet decision making is something that cannot be achieved by robots.

Yes very true, decision making isn't something a robot can achieve YET. But seeing a robot with learning capabilities, I think decision making on robots won't take that much long before attained. And yes, big fan ako ni Keanu Reeves. Kaya, I've watched most of his movies if not all.

Yeah I can feel that decision making feature for robot is coming too. Hahahha nakow sir ako naman ryan gosling amd brad pitt foreva hahahaha 😂😂😂😂

Woah ! must be a dream come true
As an IT student, I think having artificial intelligence is really cool or even more, maybe great is the term. They will be a great help to us

@coderzairos yeah dream come true! Well as an IT one of our dreams is to develop our own app or system that can help the society.

Yes and have your name in the history XD (thats my dream hahahaahha)

@coderzairos same here! But it's fine if it's not written as long as it has he right impact to the society. :)

Wow! But it creeps me out. Idunno why. Hahaha! A great experience indeed!

@neihy05 hahahah I understand how you feel it's a bit creepy for me too especially when she looked at me 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54