My name is, what? The SteemIt Name Challenge - @dragosroua


my-name.png


It appears that I've been nominated in the Steemit Name Challenge by @yabapmatt. The challenge is very simple:

Tell us in a post how you chose the current Steemit username you have. The story behind it.

Well, it's gonna be a relatively short story.

It's just my real name. I know that for an English native speaker my name sounds like it was researched to sound in an exotic, Harry Potter-ish way, with hints of dragons and witches, but it's not.

My real name is Dragos Roua. The last letter of Dragos is actually a "ș", which is pronounced "sh", and the last letter of Roua is actually "ă", which is pronounced like the vowel in "the".

I was born Romanian, but I consider myself a citizen of the world.

And that's pretty much it.

But there is a little bit of a story behind my decision to use my real name and not my usual avatar name, which is, believe it or not, edragonu.

When I first started to blog, more than 10 years ago, I didn't want to use my real name so I chose something "spectacular". Or so I thought. Never mind. Fact is I started to blog on a domain called edragonu.com, and for a few years my blog was called Edragonu. Weird, I know.

Around 5-6 years ago I decided it's too much of a hassle to keep identifying with an artificial name, and switched to my real name. It's way, way simpler. And because my name is quite rare, even in Romania, it's easier to get identified with. To my knowledge, I'm the only person named Dragos Roua at this moment. There might have been a few other social media characters with this name, but I doubt they're actually named Dragos Roua.

So, that's it.

I'm nominating the next 5 people to this challenge:

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!

Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here

Sort:  

Plain and simple, very good Dragos.

It is much better to post under a pseudo-name and avoid the hassle of any random person learning all of our personal information . BTW your name really sounds exotic!

Looks like I was one of the few who knew Dragos spells with a "ș" and Roua with "ă". BTW the name Roua I met a few times before, but you're the first Dragos Roua I've met on the social media platforms.

that's interesting to know. :-) does "Dragos Roua" mean anything in Romanian?

"Dragos" comes for the the root "dragoste", which means "love". And "Roua" means dew :)

ohh, nice. your name actually sounds like a heroic fiction character yet it has a very artistic meaning behind it.

Love dew, very poetic. 😊

eu dragoste roua! 💓

Goodness me, was pronouncing wrong before, quite musical with this pronunciation. More like an avatar, itself :) Beautiful name, indeed!

Well, there is dragon in you, a positive one i mean. You are a fighter whose ideal is making impacts here.

I will participate in this challenge, just for the fun of it.

haha, finally i get the correct pronounciation to your name. I already kind of knew it was your real name all along, which i thought the 'Dragos' was really related to dragons and knights,by the way you're Romanian...definately some dragon lineage, which is cool...lol...but knowing this is nice really, salut mare om

.definately some dragon lineage

how would you know that? :) You made me curious...

hmmn, lets just say i know few things about my favorite bloggers :D

I for one appreciate you using your own name.

I understand the reason for anonymity here and I contemplated doing it myself, so I get it. I ultimately made the same decision to use my name because I didn't want to hide behind a persona.

I've done that before but I guess I'm finally at an age where it no longer has much of an appeal.

Also, if someone is going to spend a lot of time posting images or videos of themselves, their children, their family, rooms in their homes, outside somewhere, while eventually saying where they live or thereabouts, what's the reason for anonymity then? If people really want to find you, they will find you.

As it is, though, there are plenty of cool, good and fun people here who for whatever reasons have decided to use some name other than their own. I value the engagement with them just as much, so I'm just going to say, do what you feel is best for you and yours, and steem on. :)

Good to know the story behind....Its indeed very unique and difficult to pronounce for non natives:)

I already knew it was your real name but it was fun to hear why you switched from an avatar.

Also useful to be reminded of the correct pronunciation. Now I will have to wait and see if I remember it for the next time we meet! 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61