Where my spam-looking username comes from

Two thumbs up and a slow clap for @anomadsoul for nominating me for this one!

You are quite right in that I needed more than one push to produce this blog, I somehow missed the other invites - or just put them out of my mind in the same way as a 7 day B+W photo challenge 😜


IMG_0009.PNG
Disses b+w photo challenge, uses b+w photo

Today you are in luck though today as we have a ninety minute ride on a bus to Palma to navigate and search for a new 'American' power supply for @osm0sis's laptop - and yes dear, you are one of my nominations 😘

Rules

Here are the rules of the challenge in case you are 'lucky' enough to be asked:

1 - Tell us in a post how you chose the current Steemit username you have. The story behind it.
2 - Tell us your real name!
3 - If you could change your current username, which name would you choose and why? If you have a possible usernames list, mention it!
4 - Use the tag #steemitnamechallenge so that anyone who cares at all can track all the posts and check them out
5 - Nominate 5 unfortunate souls for this challenge

My Username

Looks like the content produced by it will be spam. And while some may argue this is the case, hopefully there is some half decent work to observe in my file.

On meeting @lukestokes at Steemfest 2, one of this first comments was 'a b h 1 2 3 4 5, that just roles off the tongue!'.

Another comment I heard was 'oh abh12345, yeah I've seen that name around but I thought it looked like a spam account'. Just perfect.... crap.

When I hit the registration page in August 2016, the first username I tried was @asher. This answers another section of the challenge, as this is my first name and the username I would pick if I had the choice.

Being a Caucasian male from England, I'm yet to meet another 'Asher', one day though surely! I guess if I took a trip to Israel, I may have more luck as Asher was collected by my 'far out' parents from there in the late 70s.

Anyway, back to the reason for abh12345. As my first name was taken (if you own @asher and wish to sell it then let me know!), I resorted to a username I've used in the past for it ease of remembrance. My initials, and five numbers in order of sequence. Genius!

You see, I thought this would be a like a login ID, and following registration there would be an option to add a 'friendly' name for the account. No such luck abh12345, that's not how it works here!

So yeah, I'm not so fond on this username but I did park a pretty good one 6 months ago that is now being used as a witness account.

A shameless plug for @steemcommunity - a witness project by @paulag and @abspam2345

Our initial post

Nominations

The 5 lucky punters are as follows:

@osm0sis

@ofildutemps

@revisesociology

@beeyou

@maverickinvictus

Feel free to file my nomination in the 'I can't be arsed with that' drawer, but I think you all may have a story behind your choices, which will likely be far more interesting than mine!

Also, apologies if you have already completed this quest... yeah I missed it, sorry not so sorry 😁

Have a good day all, Palma awaits!

Asher

Sort:  

Nice one. For some reason I thought you were from the sub-continent. I don't know how I got that.

Thanks for the plug about @steemcommunity I was not aware, but I like both @paulag and your work and it looks like you stand for similar things to me so you've got my witness vote too.

Keep up the good work.

Ah cool, this post was worth it after all!

Thanks man!

Exceptionally decent picture of Sylvia and you. I generally discovered it a simple name to recall, and that is additionally imperative on Steemit would it say it isn't?

Incidentally, you didn't reveal to us what the' b' and 'h' mean! Obviously, we are interested!

a debt of gratitude is in order for sharing.

your name reminds me a bit of a not totally save password

You should see my password 😜 😂

Hello Asher - Very nice picture of Sylvia and you. I read your post and if you want, I can sell you @ofildutemps, you'll see it works well. ahah

Thank you 😁

Sylvia spent a little time editing it, and when I say 'a little', I lost track of the time 😂

I think @ofildutemps is also too expensive for me, but maybe the price will rise even more 'as time goes by' 😊

5 minutes too long for you? Well it's too short me. no further comments 😬

Finally, it came out. When I read about your nomination by two people already, I said I'll be the third if I ever join the contest. I always wanted to know how that name came to be.

Btw, you just informed me of a very nice business. I have some rich friends who are still thinking of joining Steemit. Maybe I'll pay for an account with their names and sell it back to them for couple of bucks. That way I can make enough money, buy enough sp, get an island and start a flag war. 😀😀😀😃. Just bored I guess.

Ha!

You should grab a bunch of names for sure.

ned holds @amazon and @citybank though so no such luck there 😬

2 other nominations, I missed those, oops!

Am sure Donald trump will wanna Zap instead of tweets soon when the number increases, by then I'll need a phone number to the white house.

I can sell you "steemitri" if you want, haha... but you have to pose like a mannequin in every post ;-)
Ciaooooooo

@steemitri is worth too many STEEM, only whales can afford! 😁

lovely picture @osm0sis and @abh12345. Hope you find your power supply

Found it! Woohooo!! We're celebrating good karma with a beer or two :)

What if the secind hand acccount already 'poluted' with previous post record that cannot be removed forever? Data clean freak like me cannot accept things like this to happen haha.

It's a good point but @asher is pollution free - April 2016 too, surely they have no plans for it/lost the password?

Oh just checked that out. Never seen a cleaner account LOL.

Yeah, possibly parked for a later date, or a forgotten password 🤦🏻‍♂️

Pretty silly & funny story Asher! Thank-you for the entertainment. 😄 it's fun to learn the ins and outs of these things! Great photo of you and @osm0sis! I was mortified the first time i self upvoted!! I always use my phone to steem. It's just more handy! Luckily it doesn't happen too often! I think it would be fun to join your league. Next time i see the post, i will!! I read in @beeyou's 'Let's Talk Witnesses' post that you're now in the running. That's great! You're one of the first ppl i interacted with on the platform! Hope you enjoy your trip 💗🍋🌻

Thank you!

I tried to entertain even though my story behind the username choice isn't that at all!

We had a good day out thank you, and this reply is from tired guy falling asleep on the bus home.

Lol, guess i better get out more then! Your story was entertaining to me 😄 hope you enjoyed a nice recharging nap! The struggle is real!! Take good care 🍋🌻☘

Thank you!

Recharged today! Are you a Jill who likes yoga? 😁

😁it's much more of a long-term love affair with a good friend! With no downside possible!! Haha 💗🌻💗 i have been practicing over 20 years. Been teaching 5 this next December. And, my practice & angels saved my life after a crazy car wreck last summer. It's also a huge blessing as is steem, in recovery. Do you & @osm0sis practice yoga? Blessings friend 🙏

Sounds like a great 'habit' to have had with you for so long :)

I used to do a little, along with the gym, and football, but they have all become much less of a regular occurrence these days. We should certainly on this, and @osm0sis has mentioned it - we need some mats, and this is our current excuse?!

Ahahaha so you finally succumbed to it! I have always wondered if there was a deeper meaning to your handle and was always both amused and made my head scratch haha.

Now to know the story behind it made me smile especially not having the capability to input a friendlier name haha.

But it worked out well now as it is famous!

Haha 'famous' 😂

Yeah it was a stuff up, but it seems a few people find it easy to remember and so I'm glad about that 😁

Did you do one already then?

haha I have been nominated to do and will find time for it.

Great to hear I wasn’t the only fool around that assumed there would be an option to choose a username after registration. Lol
That’s how I got stuck with @mike314-0005. I managed to reach reputation 51, but then I got so sick of misspelling my own username, I decided to create an entire new account :0)

Nice to get to know you a little better, asher. Fortunately, @abh12345 is fairly easy to remember ;0)

Haha!

Thanks for conceeding that we are/were in the same boat. Your original does look a killer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59368.30
ETH 2461.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45