You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fun at the San Diego Meetup on April 8, 2018

in #steemitmeetup6 years ago

Thank you again for hosting Marianne! I appreciate the kind words and the links. It was so helpful to hear everyone's backgrounds and stories about how they got to Steemit, and I'm trying to figure out how to work my schedule so I can make another one (although weekends are going to be near impossible).

Not sure why people couldn't make it; I'm not miffed (although I didn't organize it!) but maybe meeting on a weeknight at some place like Stone Brewery would bring more people!

Sort:  

Thank you!!

I think for a pure social outing Stone Brewery or a place like that would be fine - but usually, they are pretty loud places and it is hard to carry on a conversation with more than a couple of people.

I am not so much concerned about us being a small group - to me, that is maybe more valuable than a big group. We got to talk.

I am more concerned about people signing up and not bothering to change their RSVP. It is a problem with meetup as a platform. Some organizers get really mad if there is a no-show and go as far as to ban people from the group.
At a casual meeting like ours - it is not a big deal. But if we were to prepare material, or rent a room for a class or something like that, it would be a different story.

Did you say that you work close to Old Town? Maybe we can organize something after your work so you miss traffic going home...

Btw. I followed the link to vessel and landed in github - and remembered that it was one of those instances I told you about. Getting to a site and having no clue what to do next :)

Oh well, I will figure it out -eventually.

Good point.

If one really wants to guarantee a higher turnout, maybe start charging SBD or Steem...and then people who show up will get the equivalent amount of Steem back.

If you're a no show, you keep the Steem! And people who just show up get an upvote or something maybe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94