Mommas Gotta Know How to Fix Tables too

in #steemitmamas6 years ago

Yesterday was a day busier than my normal busy day. And just as I was about to wrap it all up, our round table’s leg suddenly collapsed. As if it has had enough of all the weight I have put on it, and all the push and pull I did to it, it just gave up after that one last pull.

image

Of course I was furious. I wanted to call it a night but with a table with one broken leg, I know it’ll give me more trouble tomorrow morning. So in the middle of the night at a little past 10 last night, I took out our trusty hammer, some nails, screws and the screw driver. No, we don’t have any of those automatic, easy to use tools. And I could’ve just left it for my husband to fix but then he’s not feeling well and even if he is in perfect health, he would’ve just waited until I start shouting before he goes ahead and fixes it.

It’s a good thing my father taught me how to use these tools when I was in high school. Girls my age that time would be experiencing mani/pedi, facials, hair salon treatments and what have you. Me? My father trained me to fetch water and carry heavy containers up to our unit. At the 4th floor of our building. I carried two containers with several gallons of water in it from the first floor up to the 4th floor. No big deal.

But one thing I will never forget was how I learned to use the hammer properly. My father gave me a project. He gave me pieces of plyboard, some wood, wood glue, a hammer, and nails. I remember telling him that we needed a new shoe rack. And so a new shoe rack I shall make. Then he left. ”When I come back, you should be able to make a decent shoe rack.” After several undo and redo of my work, I was able to make one. I was so proud of my work. When he came home that afternoon, I showed my final product right away. He took it from the wall where I rested it. I didn’t know he would take it out from there. Of course, my shoe rack didn’t stand on its own.

So he repaired my newly created shoe rack to make it usable. While he was repairing it, he said ”A woman should know how to do a man’s work. Once you marry, you won’t have to rely too much on your husband to do the repairs in the house.” I think he is the one responsible for my feminist mindset.

When I laid down on the bed last night, my husband, knowing that I am feeling much better because I have given the nail and the hammer all of my rage, commented. ”I didn’t know you were that strong. You could destroy things inside the kitchen even without trying. “ I just gave him a sarcastic smile. Before I went to sleep, I am contented that our table will be usable the following day. And it was.

I am thankful of the training my father gave me back in the day. I thought he was just punishing me and that he doesn’t love me. It turns out the stuff I did then was very much useful to me and my family now. It's good if we mommas know hownto use the kitchen tools and the laundry machines but it's better of we also know how to use all the other tools inside the toolbox.

♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

♥.•:¨Thank you for visiting my blog!¨:•.♥

image

image

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @romeskie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 350 posts. Your next target is to reach 400 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78