Orchid - String art - contest - @needleworkmonday and @Steemitmamas

in #steemitmamas5 years ago (edited)

Imagen1.png
Image 1. Presentation of my post.

Greetings to the entire Steemit community and especially to the community of #needleworkmonday and #Steemitmamas. In this opportunity I bring you a beautiful string art design of an orchid, the post was created with the intention of participating in the String Art contest.

Category 2 - Individual project entry

The string art design was an orchid, I chose it because I love this beautiful group of plants, also because I am a botanist and study this family (Orchidaceae). Its elaboration was carried out in the following way:

Materials used:

  • Sewing needle
  • Sewing thread: black, light and dark brown, light and dark green, yellow and three shades of violet.
  • Reused cardboard.
  • Pencil and paper

Imagen0.png
Image 2. Materials used and technique of rope art.

Step 1.

An image of the plant was chosen by internet which belongs to the genus Phalaenopsis, then I proceeded to draw the image (with some modifications) on a sheet of paper. Later the drawing is stamped on the cardboard sheet.

Imagen2.png
Image 3. Selected image (A) and drawing of the plant (B and C)

Step 2.

Start by cooking the edge of the pot, then follow with the leaves and peduncle (stem that supports the inflorescence).

Imagen3.png
Image 4. Border of the bearing (A), cooked of the leaf (B) and cooked of the peduncle (C)

Step 3.

The next step was to sew the flower, I started with the petals (inner part of the perianth) in this part I placed three threads of different violet tonalities. To make the sepals (external structures of the perianth) use the intense purple color and for the labellum (modified petal).

Imagen4.png
Image 5. Tissue of petals (A), parts of flower: image taken from: (B) and cooked parts of full flower (C).

Step 4.

Finish with the border of the whole plant (leaf, peduncle and flower) and the filling of the pot.

Imagen5.jpg
Image 6. Art of strings of an orchid plant.

Contribution

It was a very nice experience, it's the first time I've done string art and I'm fascinated. I will continue making other designs later. I liked it so much that I decided to frame my string art design to put it in my house.

Imagen6.jpg
Image 7. String art placed in a picture on the wall of my house.

Sort:  

Wow, the petals of your flower look amazing. Thank you for sharing this string art... I find it always interesting how artworks are done.

Thank you for your comment

Congratulations @maribelf! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you for your support

You're welcome @maribelf
Feel free to vote our witness to support us. You will get one more badge and more powerful votes from us on your posts.
Have a good day!
Posted with

Very pretty String Art Flower!

Thank you for entering!

Thank you for your support and for promoting these activities.

The best part about everyone making all of thevstring art is how much I'm learning about everybody and the things they love.
Your orchid has beautiful petals and looks delightful framed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00