You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Help! I have teens that have started dating

in #steemitmamas6 years ago

Disclaimer: I am not a parent. So everything I say from here on out is probably bullshit.

My oldest step daughter got on the pill at a relatively young age as she was the product of a teen pregnancy and her mom knew the struggles well. Syd asked me to sit in on the discussion the night the decision was made. I thought she wanted moral support. Silly me. She talked for about 2 minutes and said "Tom. What do you have to say?" I honestly don't remember where it all went but I started with "This is not a permit to pull your pants down. This is about protection and care and you'll do well to remember that..." It led to a pretty full and frank discussion among the three of us, and the daughter remembers it to this day (She'll be 50 in November).

With your son, I have no idea. At that age boys really only want two things and when it's time they have no conception or memory of the second. I think I was wired so tight at that age that I didn't blink until a girl drug me over the front seat of her parents '58 chev. Just sayin'

I think maybe you are being a bit too harsh on the motorcycle thing, though at that age the girls that hopped on mine knew they were risking the wrath of their parents. But I'm telling you, they hopped on when the opportunity presented itself.

Great post. And congratulations again on the Currie. You earned it.

Sort:  

You are a parent <3not by birth certificate but by love and support the fact that you stepped up for such an important conversation and took the lead, although you didn't expect it, is commendable.
Gah, the Chevy story lol. Now I am more nervous as my own memories continue to come back lol.
Thank you for your kind words sweetheart <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86