Steemit Has Made Me An Ass Licker, Extortionist And Hypocrite

in #steemitmademedo6 years ago (edited)

download (3).jpeg

They say money doesn’t change people; it only brings out their true nature. I wonder if that is true about Steemit; deep inside, I hope it isn’t (Although the evidence suggests otherwise). This is a story of how Steemit turned me into the Mother of all Ass Lickers, An Extortionist and a Full Time Hypocrite.

First, The Ass Licker

I was surfing through Steemit, looking for contests to apply for when I saw the post. To start with, I thought it was all a joke. I mean, when a contest post says the goal is to produce the Mother of All Ass Lickers, you are wont to think it’s one big joke. Turns out it wasn’t a joke. It was a real contest. To win, I had to prove I knew a lot about Ass Liking.

Now, I love a fun challenge so I applied. But as I developed my entry, I wonder if I wasn’t just expressing my true self. Thing is, on Steemit, a few guys could make your day, week or even a month. They are called Whales and Dolphins. (For a guy who struggles with an average of $2 per post, I know what I am saying.) Anyway, I wrote all that I could, know (and probably did) and submitted it as a entry. I came first and was declared the Mother of all Ass Lickers on Steemit. These days, I don’t do any of that. I simply apply for contests, check on my friends and get back to work in real life.

You can check out the post. It is titled: The Ultimate Steeemit Ass-Kissing And Ass-Licking Tutorial (Only For The Brave)

Then An Extortionist

This one happened quite recently. Some one was in desperate need of fiat (Naira - Nigerian Currency) and offered to exchange five SBDs. At the time, it was going for 950/1 on the black market. I offered him 850 (partly as a joke) and he accepted. I couldn’t believe my ‘luck’. Anyway, I bought the SBDs at that price and went on to sell it on the black market.

This happened in a whatsapp group (I mean the initial transaction). So other Steemians read the chats and knew what was up. Soon, folks told the guy that were better ways to exchange his SBDs for fiat. No one spoke about me, but I could read the accusations and sense the disgust in their chats (maybe my guilty conscience was simply working on me). Anyway, I told myself it was all business - maybe bad business for the guy. But everyone knew the official rates; that he offered to sell for lower was my fault? Well, I only know that the last time I had a opportunity to exploit another person, I didn’t take it. In fact, I helped him get a good exchange rate.

Now, All Hail The Hypocrite

I joined Steemit primarily because of the money. I had a blog, was a regular on Medium and had fun on Twitter. I left all of these sites primarily because of the money. So imagine my frustration when in my first few weeks on Steemit, I made next to nothing. I then learned that Steemit was all about community (some call it nepotism, circle-jerking and godfatherism). Anyway, I practically knew no one so I had to walk up the ladders on my own. Good thing I found contests - they have helped to provide rewards and helped me connect with writers like myself. Anyway, back to the story.

So I began to rant. Yeah, I did a lot of rant in my early days; most of which got the attention of many. I complained of how people only upvoted themselves and their friends, how people hoarded the good stuff for only those in their communities, how good relationship always win over good content and all of that. Soon, I was doing all of that - and more.

These days, I don’t even search out for new content. I go through my heavily audited feed and read from folks I already connect with. For the newcomers, you have to impress me with your writing/thinking skills or we might never click (thankfully, that applies to whales and dolphins as well. Regardless of how much upvotes you share, if I don’t feel your stuff, I don’t come around). Forgive me for the digress.

Having realised how much of an hyproctite I am, my conscience went into work. It was eating at me. I remembered those times I used to rant and wonder how many newcomers are feeling that way. It’s not as if I earn much, but folks could use an encouraging comment and an 0.01 upvote from time to time. I had to get my conscience off my back. There was only one way: give back to the community.

Right now, I am working on a project called Grayesque. It is a curation service, something like Curie on a very much lower scale. I don’t have time to scout through Steemit looking for posts (I’ve got a busy schedule in real life) so I listed the help of some who could, created an account and look for ways to fund it with Steempower. I’m looking to fund it with a delegation of 150 SP for four weeks and see wheat happens from there. At this point, it is more than just assuaging my conscience; it is helping other with the little I can.

You can read the introductory post here: Introducing Grayesque

Final words

Looking back, my Steemit journey has been eventful. It has showed me a lot of my personal tendencies. I’m grateful though. I think Steemit in some way is helping me become a better person. There are other stuffs Steemit has made me do but I don’t want to bore you with an excessively long essay.

This is my entry for the 'Look What Steemit Made Me Do' Contest by @mermaidvampire.

Thanks for reading

Blessings

[Image source: Pixabay]

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Hahaha thanks for writing such great and hilarious post. You are just being so real and I appreciate that. Hmm, so it's even for another contest, hahaha. Well done oh @iamthegray

Smiles

I'm glad you liked it - I was even thinking of changing the title

And yes, it's always for contests.

Thanks for stopping by

Lots of blessings from me

Lol... That title brought me here and I read all the way down to the end.

The Truth is, in one way or the other, Steemit has either helped us discover our real self or has showed us what we could do in certain circumstances-The good, the bad and the ugly situations. In all, these are geared towards making us better.

Your growth rate has been great.
Keep steeming dear 👌

Smiles

I like your point. You know, there are stuffs you never think you can do until you find yourself in certain situations.

Thanks for stopping by

I think I'll leave the title just the way it is

Blessings

I love what you put up here. It is real and just upholds the fact that we tend to see things from different angles.
On your curation project, I'll suggest to you steemlookup.com as it can help you sieve out the contents you'll love to reward more easily.

Steem on... @dorth...

Smiles

Thanks for your comment. Yeah, sometimes until you really get involved, you might never get the full picture

I'll check out the site and tell my team members about it

Thanks for stopping by

Blessings

Hey bro, you got me smiling....You not extortionist, you re rather a biz man bro. I never mind about the amount, my goal was to clean myself off that mess man and am happy you made my day. You wouldn't know how crazy i was looking....haha. I like your post enticing like a woman, lol. Look forward to your curation stuff. Thanks much

Thanks boss

I guess it was just my conscience dealing with me.

I'm glad I could help

Thanks for stopping by

Blessings

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Aha! So you are the Mother of All Ass Lickers!!! Hahaha. I bow to you. 😂😂😂

I have just posted my first real Steemit rant some hours ago. 🤑 Just had to get it out of my system. Whew. If I had a lot of SBDs I'd also put it in the trending page like all those big fishes do just for the heck of it.

Anyway good luck on Grayesque. Hope to get upvoted by it soon. 😁

Steemit makes people crazy for money maybe. Whew. I'd like to not take the site seriously at times but sometimes I can't help it. Steemit makes us do a lot of things, some good and bad.

Smiles

I'll check it out now.

I guess everyone wants to get to the trending page. If only wishes were horses (or something like that. I can't remember)

Blessings

Haha. Yeah, if only. Thanks! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82