You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How do I get to my owner key?

in #steemithelp8 years ago

"The owner key is the master key for the account and is required to change the other keys."

So the key you received when you signed up is the master key.

KEEP IT OFFLINE people you should use the post key to login!!

Sort:  

By the articles I reviewed, it's not the same. The password is the master key, and there's a way to generate the private owner key(There's no officially provide), though I still don't know how to do that after I read the second article. I don't I don't know about programming.
ref:
https://steemit.com/steemit-guides/@pfunk/a-user-s-guide-to-the-different-steem-keys-or-passwords
https://steemit.com/security/@noisy/public-and-private-keys-how-to-generate-all-steem-user-s-keys-from-master-password-without-a-steemit-website-being-offline

You got a 10.00% upvote from @voteme courtesy of @john371911! For next round, send minimum 0.01 SBD to bid for upvote.

Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to voteme by clicking following links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.

OK, that's the part I was not getting--that the owner key and the master password are one and the same. Is it smart to change the master password from time to time then, just in case? Or just keep it in a safe place? I've probably used it to log in three or four times, but usually I do use the posting key.

Keep it in a safe place.
I only suggest changing the master password when and if you feel or see you've been compromised that could impact your account.

Thanks so much for your help :)

I ran into the same problem. So glad I found your post! I was freaking out because I didn't have the owner private key and thought I would have to close my account and start over. Thank you for doing this before I did ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59