You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why You Should Encourage Kids To Do Hobbies

in #steemiteduction7 years ago (edited)

Reading this post was almost like listening to beautiful music for me. :)

And it also remind me of an episode when i was young.
A friend of me collected stamps. At first i had no interest in this.
But he was so passionate about it and full of energy every time he wanted to show me the new stamps he got, that i slowly started to develop a interest for it my self.(even if i only collected for about a year before i gave up that interest)
But it still learned me a lot.
This kid was usually not a passionate boy, but i saw how he shined when he was in his "stamp world" and that again effected me.

And when i started to collect stamps too, i learned directly a lot from the stamps them self.
Because every time i got a new stamp, i wanted to know about the things it was on the picture of the stamp.
So if it was a picture of a animal, i would read about that animal, find out where that animal lived and so on.
If it was a picture of a famous person, i would read about who that person was and so on.
And when i got a stamp from another country i did not know about, the first thing i would do, was to find my atlas and see where that country was..

And i believe that children will remember the knowledge they want to know about much better then the knowledge they kind of are forced to try to remember. :)

Sort:  

I think it was wonderful of you to support your friend! Showing interest in someone else's hobbies and interest is so important in building relationships, and like you said, that's how we learn!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94