Dumbledore Defeated in Gollum's World Part II - A preschool story

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

The preschool world is changed. I feel it in the water. I feel it in the earth. I smell it in the air.

The precious has returned to my classroom. It is that one item that is slightly different from the rest. Once found, as legend has told, the preschooler will do anything to covet the item. They wants it. They needs it. Sneaky little preschoolers. Wicked, tricksy, false!

Unlike the world of Middle Earth, in the realm of preschool, the precious takes on many forms. On this occasion, it was an item that I had predicted. I had noticed it once, and hid the precious from view many weeks ago. It was a fork that was slightly larger than the rest, served to the children at lunch time. As an elder, an educator, I can resist the precious, but it is strong. For some reason, I didn't notice the new change the precious took.

fork.jpg

This fork has a flower.

Three-year-old Elanor was passed the flower. Five-year-old Rosie saw the flower.

Elanor began to scream at the table. She flayed her body in her chair and kicked her legs out. She screamed, "Flower! Flower!" She was hysterical. I ran to the table. Among the screaming and crying, I heard a faint, low whisper. "Precious," Rosie muttered, hunched in her chair, sitting directly next to Elanor. Rosie saw the precious and took the precious from the younger, smaller child.

The younger, smaller Elanor lost it.

As quick as a magician, I snatched that fork from that Rosie, placed another at the table and said to Elanor, "Now the flower is gone. Nobody has the flower!" But my magic did not work this time. I had no pockets to hide the fork. It had mashed potatoes on it. They saw me throw it in the wash bin. Both children lost it now. I tried to say, "Let's eat! You both have the same forks now. The flower is gone. Let's EAT!" But it took quite some time for the girls to calm themselves.

Plus, they didn't want to eat their broccoli.

And all the others at the table saw the precious as well.
They knew the flower held a power over the child and wanted to covet it themselves.
So they saw.
And they will remember...

book quotes
gollum smile
brothers
gollum
hobbits

Sort:  

This is hilarious. Those kids don't forget the precious. My 16 month old watches me like a hawk when I hide things from her and she's smart. She'll wait until I'm not looking to retrieve it. The precious she's obsessed with is my phone. I hid it the other day but when I turned my head she got to it. She ran for it and I found her in the bathroom playing with it over the toilet ready to drop it in. The allure of the precious is a pain in the butt to deal with. Good luck with dealing with future fork events.

Thanks! Oh, the phone is not even funny how addicted some kids are. I have some preschoolers have the phone in the car, and when dad takes him out for drop off, the phone doesn't leave his face. The child walks to the door, walks down the hall all the way to my room staring at the screen. I had a chat with that dad!

Hmmmm great story, you brought back to me the memory of hobbit.
Everyone always want to hold power but it consumes you when oppress people or letting it get into your head

I do not like this evil character he is very annoying, hy friends vote my post and visit my beginner steemit
@irsyadzeal

Wow nice story! I love hobbits. This brings back memories.

I really enjoyed this story.

And it is not just children who are fascinated by the precious. Adults fall under its spell, too.

Another great read, @upsydaisy. Now that you point it out, little ones are a bit like smiggle. When they want something, they can go nuts...and sometimes they don't even want that precious until they see someone else wants it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16