Dumbledore in a world of Gollum - A preschool story

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

There are certain objects one may find in the preschool classroom that turn any 4 year old into a raging maniac. They will resort to hissing, shouting, spitting, hitting and other violent acts to covet such an object, and no means of positive reinforcement, redirection or reprimanding will succeed. One thing to bring them all and in the darkness bind them.

On this day, it was the one Play Doh knife. spin_prod_669433301_LI.jpg

Four sat at the table, each with their own ball of dough, as I placed down the bin full of plastic tools in which they immediately rummaged. As I pulled up a chair, I heard the gasp and turned to see the child across from me hunching over in his chair, cradling something in his hands. "Precious," he whispered in a voice that was not his own...Gollum-Smeagol-smeagol-gollum-14076787-960-406.jpg

Brief background: Our preschool has three full day programs. Many children and teachers circulate through my room in a day. I cannot be held responsible for what objects may end up in my classroom. They appear without warning.

I wish the knife had never come to me. The child hid it from his peers as he mutilated his dough with fury, but before i could reach for that bright piece of yellow plastic, it caught another child's eye.

What's that?
Go away.
I see it, too!
It's MINE!
But I want it!
No, ME!

This precious is not shared. This precious knows no negotiation. One by one, the children of preschool fell to the power of the knife. But there is one that can resist. An elder. An educator. A magician. Quickly, I reached forward and snatched the knife, secretly slipping it in my pocket. Once in my possession, the power of the knife was soon forgotten. And for two and a half days, the knife passed out of all knowledge. Until, when chance came, a new object, a new precious, appeared..

There was one single pair of green scissors.
scissors.jpg

Be aware. It takes on many forms, but there is only one. The gold colored-pencil. The neon pink piece of paper. Even a fork that may be slightly larger than the rest. When chance comes, the object will ensnare a new bearer. And deep in the realm of preschool, it will consume them.

Do you know of a precious in your classroom?

Gollum image

Sort:  

Congratulations @upsydaisy, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

This is freaking hilarious! Try adding the "punchline" tag. I teach high school so "the precious" is the one and only working phone charger they share between them. That or a hotspot password.

Being the first, or at least the first 5 commentators can provide many benefits. This will help the next visitor see what others are saying to one post. And if they find that your opinions are unique, interesting and useful, then most likely they will be interested to know you further. However, do not rush to comment. Always take time to thoroughly read the article and understand what is being said.

This is such a funny article. You had me laughing. The image of a little bitty kid whispering my precious. lol I've taught college. The only "precious" I can think of is the coveted desk right next to the only electrical outlet to charge a laptop or phone. lol.

Dude, I'm not kidding, either. He was so far hunched over, just a wee little 3 year old, grumbling. I didn't know what was happening at first. They certainly are possessive!

So funny!! I'm homeschooled with a thousand siblings and this hits so close to home. Thank you!

Oh there are twins in my room, I couldn't imagine more! Siblings just go off on each other, man, it gets real. I was lucky one of them didn't get the Play Doh knife or my magic pocket would not have worked. You'll have to hide deep in a cave to keep anything precious for yourself!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90