Improve your reading skills!

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

unnamed.png

1


Reading

As an English teacher , one of the most frequent questions that I always get from my student is about the best way of improving their English skills. As an English teacher, I have been working on language field for about 13 years. I usually recommend them to read as many books as possible based on my experiences. Reading a book in the language that we learning helps us to improve us in many different ways.

When you read texts, you improve yourself in many different branches like grammar, vocabulary, sentence structures, writing and even speaking. Even though most of my students don't like reading even in Turkish, they understand the value of reading texts and books in English when they make progress in their learning process. Considering this situation, I always think about new ways to get my students' attention in reading books so that they can learn the language more easily!


12-books-set-Danny-and-the-Dinosaur-I-can-read-level-1-English-picture-story-book.jpg_640x640.jpg

2


Get their interest

Based on my experiences, I observe some of my students feeling extremely bored while reading something at class. I ask them why they are not interested in reading that to keep the communication ways open with them, otherwise they might feel completely lost in class. They usually tell me that the reading passages they are reading don't get their interest, which leads the lack of attention in their minds.

To be honest, they are quite right about their statement. When the books are not interesting or well-designed to educate our children, it is impossible to see your students reading and checking the word with enthusiasm in your lessons. That's why, If you want to have an efficient reading lesson with you students, you must be really selective in the reading passages and exercises so that both you and students can have fun in the class!


545880b58fc4b00e13bf41386699a60c.jpg

3


Levels of books

It is also very important to check how difficult books are. As your students are in different levels based on their contact with the language they are learning, teachers and students must be very picky when they look for the books to improve reading skills and interest. I usually tell my students to check the levels of the books and look at the contents of them so that they can understand ıf they are interested or not.

In my lessons, I sometimes skip some reading passages in our course books. When you have a reading exercise which is about space or some other topic which may not interest your all students, it is hard to involve all students into class activities. The contents of the books should be more general so that everybody can find something which is related to their interests. It shouldn't be only for girls or boys.


6368d47861755676265407e9fb7e1696.jpg

4


Visuals

Like in all other skills of a language, visual are really crucial in reading exercises. When you hand some reading sheets to your students, keep it in your mind that you need to put some visual on the board or work sheets so that they can get some general understanding before they start digging into reading. It is more essential with children as they can learn more easily through the visuals, drawings and interactive elements.

In addition to all these things, students should always be exposed to some exercises after reading to see how much they can understand from the texts they are supposed to read. Reading a text without checking what you understand doesn't make any sense. Your students must have an aim while doing this practice to get feedback on their learning process, so it is our duty to inform them about it.


U5dqonZkFubZer84fPySQfd8uQ1R492_1680x8400.png


How to manage a class

I am going to write a post about some crucial tips of managing a class while doing reading exercises tomorrow. If a teacher doesn't know how to lead students, it is not possible to help them in their learning progress. You are welcome to leave your comments If you have ideas about encouraging our students to read more in the languages they are learning.

It is always a great idea to brainstorm ideas on Steemit platform. We can share experiences and expand our knowledge about education altogether. As a proud member of @Sndbox, I support @steemiteducation community since they work a lot to help people who put effort in creating valuable contents on Steemit platform. Thank you for reading and Steem on!


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

Even though most of my students don't like reading even in Turkish

Are you from Turkey?

I see you write a lot about your students man, how old are they? I suppose they are small and that's why they don't like to read.

In my case I have learn a lot of english words over the years by reading things online.

I remember a few years back I enjoyed reading a lot about conspiracies and aliens, and more recently I have had some memorable readings in the nosleep subreddit which is about horror stories from that community (we should have something similar here in steemit). So, by reading and watching tons of videos with people speaking english I ended up understanding the language perfectly.

it is not about their ages, that is something common in all ages, not just in learning a language.

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #21! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60643.63
ETH 2401.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61