Teacher's Gift Idea: Homemade With Love

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

Tomorrow is my son's teacher's birthday and the class mom asked that we all contribute towards a hamper she is putting together for her. The school has a policy that all gifts given within the school need to be homemade, to encourage creativity and an appreciation for heartfelt gifts. Since my kid is only three-years-old, it was time for this mom to get her "make" on and conjure up a super cute gift on his behalf. 

Since knitting is my thing lately, I decided to incorporate something knitted into the gift idea and with a little brainstorming and some inspiration from Pinterest, I think I came up with the perfect "on a budget" homemade gift idea. 

First I found a console jar that was perfect in size as well as presentation. I then grabbed my knitting needles, my favorite colour yarn (at the moment) and made a little band to wrap around the jar to give it a sweet and lady-like appeal. The finishing touch to the decoration was a petite knitted flower. You can learn how to knit your own flower by visiting a tutorial I created in my series: Learning To Knit With @sweetpea. You can find the Knitted Flower Tutorial HERE

Once the pretty part was completed my son and I hit the kitchen and whipped up a batch of our famous crunchies! I really liked the fact that my child could help me to bake them and play a role in helping to put this gift together for his teacher. It was during this baking session that we discussed how it was his teacher's birthday and how we wanted to give her a gift from our hearts to show her that we care and appreciate her. This got him super excited and he is quite eager for her birthday celebrations that will be held in class. 

While our "cookies in a jar" gift is far from extravagant and overly expensive, a lot of thought, detail and time went into making it. Which is something I feel we need to imprint into our kids, that the worth of an item is story behind it and not it's market value. 

I thought I would share this little nifty gifty with you to perhaps inspire you to make something similar for a loved one. It is such an affordable gift put together, making it an ideal gift for teachers, doctors and co-workers, especially around Christmas time (I am already envisioning a rich red band around the jar). 


Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Wow looks great it's a great idea.

This is adorable! It is so heartwarming that you transformed my day into a Christmas Eve. Thank you for the miracles you make! <3

Great idea, congratulations. I like.!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63893.57
ETH 2528.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65