Sensory Play With Ghost Mud

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

My two year old son usually goes to day care in the mornings while I get some work done in the office. However, this past week it has been "school holidays", so I took some time off to spend with him. I had pictured sunny mornings around the pool, walks around the park and ice cream treats (since it is spring time here in the Southern Hemisphere), but alas, we got rained in almost the entire week! So I needed to a lot of brainstorming and Google searching on what fun activities I could rustle up to keep my little one busy (instead of bouncing off the walls)!

I came up with quite a few things that were really a hit, but the one extremely simple activity that my son thoroughly enjoyed and keeps asking to do again was making and playing with "Ghost Mud", which in essence has almost the same consistency and feeling of playdough once made. Anyway, I though I would share the idea here on Steemit with you, it's fun to do at home with the kids or if you are a teacher, you could make it a class activity (add some science to it)!

Image Source

How To Make Ghost Mud
 

Firstly, let me say that this is not a fun activity, but quite educational one too, in that it offers the opportunity for sensory play. It ignites and allows the little ones to explore the senses of touch, sight, smell, hearing (and umm, taste too if your toddler is as daring as mine).

So here's what you will need to prepare for the gig:

  • 1 roll of toilet paper (1 ply)
  • A bar of Ivory or Dove soap
  • 1 cup of warm water
  • An eager toddler!

Instructions:

  1. Get your kid/s to remove the toilet paper from its roll. I think this part might be more fun than the activity itself and can take up a good amount of time!
  2. Once all of the toilet paper has been removed, gather it all up and place it into a large container or basin (you could even make it in the bath)!
  3. If you have older kids, let them grate up the soap, or grate the soap yourself before hand. Another alternative here is to mix this activity with the Soap Explosion experiment. 
  4. Add your soap to your cup of very warm water, do the in a separate bowel to your basin for now.
  5. Give it a mix until it gets mushy and squishy.
  6. Pour it into the bin with the toilet paper and start kneading and mushing the ingredients together until a smooth dough-like substance forms - this might take quite a few minutes and is a bit of hard work, but the kids enjoy it! Let them squelch it in their finger to hear the funny sounds it makes.
  7. Add some more water if you think the consistency is too dry!
  8. The end result will be a smooth, pulpy and somewhat slimy creation!

Image Credits

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Source: https://happyhooligans.ca/ghost-mud-ice-cream/

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh, and guess what! We are heading into October, the month of ghosts ghouls! This activity is an ideal opportunity to do something that incorporates a Halloween-like theme...I dare you!

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Much love - @sweetpea

<

em>(bringing you original content)



Sort:  

Excellent post... and thankfully.... I repeat thankfully .... not applicable to me at this particular time. I can however see the fun in it. I spent some time today at a Nappy Braai ...of all things. It appears this new generation men want to also get some attention alongside the traditional 'stork party'...my daughter is expecting ... my first grand child... and I shall one day make 'ghost mud'

Congrats, being a grandpa is awesome (says my dad), you get to have all the fun and then give the kids back when they get tired, groggy...and smelly! I'm currently planning a baby shower for a friend and boy is more complicated than it used to be, there was mention of a Nappy Braai for the men too! I have to say though, it is so expensive raising a child these days, that anything helps!

Errrr, I thought it was a bloody cheek have a stork party list....same as a wedding list.... And some bloody pricey items... But we love them don't we {shrug}

Nice post to entertain the little ones. I wish I had the grandkids, I would surprise them with this idea.

Thanks @veejay, maybe grandkids are in the cards for the future?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sweetpea from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Congratulations @sweetpea! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow, this is great, they get movement running around with the paper roll, then work their hands making the dough! Resteemed.

Awesome post! Lovely activity with the kids you have. If you have time, kindly visit my blog. I just posted my bonding time with my kids as well. Keep it up!

Thank you for the positive feedback :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48