HOW TO DEAL WITH EXAM/WORK STRESS



Knowing how to cope and actually managing your workload in times of extreme pressure can greatly assist you flouring in that situation. Yesterday I posted about the amount of work I have right now as the examinations have started. I have piles on top of piles of scripts to mark. In the beginning It was all so overwhelming. I can imagine that such an experience is still rampant amongst many professionals.

I hope these steps will help ease the pressure a bit.

Tip #1 Change your perspective

Are you of the perspective of the glass being half full or half empty? I always look at the brighter side of things. We tend to depress ourselves more than our work depresses us. We make a mountain out of an ant hill. All we need to do at times is to take a step back, take it all in and reassess the situation. You'll come to find that it's not as bad as it seems.

I am sure you see the relevance of this analogy regarding your work. At the beginning of every examination cycle I take a day before starting my assessments. This allows me to refocus and get myself mentally and psychologically ready for the task at hand. At first it looks like a daunting task and impossible to complete. After a shift in my perspective, the work seems like a lot still but now more manageable. What seemed impossible then seems doable after.

Tip #2 Break it down

It's tempting and seems logical to want to get everything done all at once and to get it over and done with. So we throw ourselves in the ocean and hope that we can swim. What happens after? We drown. Drowning in your work is the last thing you'd want to do.

So what is the answer? It's rather simple really. Break everything into smaller pieces. Instead of taking big chunks out of it, rather go for small bites.
Here's how it works:
Let's say I have 300 scripts to mark in two days. The first thing I'll do is to divide the papers into categories. The first category will be "easy to assess". All the simpler exam papers will fall under there; then comes the "Time consuming" category. Any lengthy paper will be placed in that box. Lastly is the "challenging" category.

With these categories I will be able to see exactly how much work I have to do. I'll start with the "easy to assess" papers to get me into the groove of marking. Once I start, It's hard to stop. I became a well oiled marking machine.

Tip #3 Focus on one element at a time

So I have my work divided; what now? Now we start working! But still 300 papers are a lot to go through without succumbing to fatigue and demotivation. Solution? Break it down even further.

Instead of marking an 8 to 10 page question all at once, I would only mark question one of the paper. After that I put it aside and mark another script's question one. By the time I get to the sixth or seventh script, I'd be having all the answer in my head and start making twice as fast. In no time I'll be done with question one for all 300 scripts. That right there is progress and it fuels me to continue. The remaining five to six questions fall down like dominoes.

Tip #4 Set a time limit

It usually helps to have a time frame of when you would like to finish your task. This setting of a time frame enables goal setting. Once the goal is clear and the time is set up, it becomes much more easier to work. Plus this adds an element of fun in the work, trying to beat the clock.

Tip #5 Take a break

I know this one is unexpected. That's just how I am. I like to shake things up a bit. Resting is crucial in any task we do. After dividing the work, identifying which elements to tackle first and setting the time frame, it's important to factor in time for rest.

Most people in most professions are overworked not because of the amount of work they have but because of not giving themselves time to recover. Our minds need as much recovery time as our bodies and so it's extremely important to get as much rest as possible during the day and night. Take care of your body and mind and they'll take care of you.

Tip #6 Just have fun with it

Again, another unusual tip but it works. Just have fun with your work. That is your chosen profession. You can do it in your sleep. Why not make it fun?

Create a work-space that inspires happiness, creativity and silliness. Have pictures of your favourite drawings, cartoons, celebrities, funny quotes and memes and so on. Make it colourful. Create a space that you would have loved as a child. What brought you inner joy as a child can still bring you the same emotion as an adult.

Creating such an environment will make you feel like you're at the playground rather than in the office. Surround yourself with positivity and lessen your stress at the same time.

To recap

So let's put everything together:
Firstly change how you feel and think about your workload by taking a step back and changing your attitude towards it. Always divide your mountain into smaller hills so that you can climb them better. Focus on conquering one hill at a time and the mountain will follow. Set out realistic goals and time to achieve those goals. No matter what you're doing, always make time to rest and recharge your body as well as your brain. Remember to always have fun in everything you do. Creating a fun and joyful environment can do a lot for your psyche.

I hope this helps in any profession you are in. "It always seems impossible until it's done." Nelson Mandela.

IF YOU HAVE ENJOYED READING THIS POST PLEASE DO FEEL WELCOME TO READ THE FOLLOWING:
IS EXAM STRESS ONLY FOR LEARNERS?
LOVE IS A BATTLEFIELD
ARE YOU AFRAID?GOOD

ALL PHOTOS ARE TAKEN FROM PIXABAY.COM

Sort:  

Teaching is important and these are great tips!

Great tips here for managing a workload without stressing out. I think these tips actually apply to many professions where the amount of work has suddenly piled up. I like the break down the large tasks into smaller chunks of work idea. This is what I generally do to keep from being so overwhelmed.

Thank you. It is less mentally defeating seeing less work in different smaller piles. I think at the end of the it's all psychological and we need to master out psyche by making things more manageable for ourselves.

Great advice! I particularly like your question "Are you of the perspective of the glass being half full or half empty?" I spent a lot of time in the past pondering this question. My answer is neither, I'm grateful for the glass. The glass is a vessel that I can fill anytime I want. I can also enjoy it's contents at anytime, because I know it's refillable. If I don't like what it holds I can empty it and fill it with something I enjoy.

Wow. What a great perspective. I've never thought of it that way. We learn something new everyday. This is the kind of mentally that will enable its possessor to always stay positive and find solutions to many challenges in life. You've changed my view of the world!

I occasionally think outside the box.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68321.15
ETH 3140.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69