Alphabet Adventures Episode 6.... "Abound"

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Alphabet Adventures a journey through the dictionary Episode 6 .

I you didn't catch the first episode you can find it here basically it tells you what I am doing and why.

I have decided that the following quote will be a permanent fixture as I feel really captures the power of language.

“If as one people speaking the same language they have begun to do this, then nothing they plan to do will be impossible for them”

Today's Adventure.

Abound

This is a word that should have meaning to every on of my country men and hopefully this post will help some understand its meaning.

v.i 1 to be in great plenty; be very prevalent.
2 phr abound in. to be rich in
3 abound with to be filled or teeming with

Etymology

Coming from the Latin ab - meaning from and undare - meaning surge; rise in a wave the full word abundare carried the sentiment of an overflowing from there it moved in to old French as abonder and then into Middle English as abound carrying the same definition.

So while I continue please keep in mind that this word doesn't mean to have a bit, or some, or a pretty good amount of something, it means to have in excess like having more beer than you could drink if you can imagine such a thing and if you struggle with that analogy to much think of it as having more Sh*t Loads than you know what to do with.

Here is a little reminder for my fellow Aussies if you not an Aussie please bear with me I am getting to a point.

Australians all let us rejoice
For we are young and free
We've golden soil and wealth for toil
Our home is girt by sea

Our land abounds in nature's gifts
Of beauty rich and rare
In history's page, let every stage
Advance Australia Fair
In joyful strains then let us sing
Advance Australia Fair

Is it surprising that we like to call ourselves the lucky country? We acknowledge the abundance we have in our very own national anthem.

Our land abounds in natures gifts.

1: Natural Resources: Head on over to the ABS and have a look at our world ranking in the first table.

2: Our Natures Beauty: It gets us ranked number 7 for world tourism

3: Despite the desert 58% of our land is arable

4,5,6: Ranked 15th in the world for life expectancy at birth, we have a real medicare system, we have a social welfare system to help out the battlers (yes also the bludgers).

I think with those listed and all the others its fair to say that our land abounds in opportunity, that our cups are filled to overflowing. So why are so many of us miserly? How do we justify "Go Home We'e Full" stickers on the back of our cars? Do we really think it benefits us to insist on poring more into an over flowing cup while our neighbour is thirsty? do we really think Scrooge McDuck wouldn't have broken his neck diving into his money vault?

At this point I'm sure it sounds like I think we live in a land of sunshine and lolly pops and that I'm advocating handouts for everyone.

What I am suggesting in an abundance mindset, that when we have plenty more than we can use that supporting and sharing doesn't diminish us, hell at the end of the day maybe just maybe we all end up with bigger cups.

The Steemit World

All over Steemit with just the tiniest bit of looking you can find proof of concept.

Go have a look at what @aggroed and the MPS/P.A.L network does in the community. Need a hint they make bigger cups.

If your an Aussie check out how @teamaustralia works with their community.

Go have a look at the impact created by @fulltimegeek 's delegating most of his SP to the #stewardsofgondor.
People like @hitmeasap @taskmaster4450 @abh12345 @wwf (bigger list of the stewards write up by @abh12345) are busy making bigger cups.

Go have a look at the knock on effect created in @wwf creating his #stewardsofteramater. Bigger dam cups

Go have a look at the 2000 sp delegation being put up by @anomadsoul to a role model steemian link

@acidyo @ocd and @currie do their bit to spread the wealth and supporting even tiny little red fish like myself and you guessed it making bigger cups.

I'm to small or I'm not rich enough to make someone else a bigger cup!

Congratulations so am I welcome to the club unfortunately that's a bollocks excuse. Join those people that will build you while you build people, go join a community, get on discord, get on steemit.chat.

My main community right now it @thesteemengine.

Now I know that Steemit abounds with those that work on developing the community, building its up and growing those around them these are just some of the ones I have been fortunate to meet so far.

Please share any others you know so I can learn more about them

Pervious Episodes.
1 2 3 4 5

If you would like to follow me @shai-hulud in these adventures please feel free alternatively if you write to educate can I suggest the tag #steemiteducation

Feel like following and inspiring woman check out my wife @insideoutlet

Kind Regards

Peter

Sort:  

I would one day like to visit and witness the abundance of Australia.

Where do you live? You should make the trip its lovely

I am in the US. It is a long trip to get over there. We just went to Vietnam last year. We are going closer (Morocco) this year. But Australia is on "the list."

yeah man its a huge flight we flew to the us twice this year and it takes a lot out of you.

The dallas Sydney flight is actually the longest non stop flight in the world

Wow. What is that? 20 hours?

I'm not a huge fan of those stickers. I never really thought about the abundance we have in comparison to the word abound before. I'm loving learning new things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62802.08
ETH 2941.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59