A-Z Alphabet Adventures Episode 2 "Abandon"

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Alphabet Adventures Episode two.
I you didn't catch the first episode you can find it here basically it tells you what I am doing and why.

I have decided that the following quote will be a permanent fixture as I feel really captures the power of language.

“If as one people speaking the same language they have begun to do this, then nothing they plan to do will be impossible for them”
Genesis 11: 6

Today's Adventure.

Today once again I will be leaving you with just one word although in this case it is because I fell that this one requires a bit of focus.

Todays word is Abandon.

Abandon.

v

  1. To go away from a person place or thing without the intent to return.
  2. Give up, cease work on (abandon the attempt)
  3. Yield completely to an emotion or impulse

n careless freedom of manner.

Etymology: I don’t find this anywhere near as interesting as the clues found in the definition but I will give you a what I know anyway.

This term was originally used to in the sense of bring under control.

Latin- Ad meant "to"
Old French - Bandon meant "control".

Just a tad different from today's meaning huh? in fact almost opposite with the meaning of what we can only call surrender.


Image Source

“Abandon all hope ye who enter here”

Dante’s divine comedy.

Very dramatic isn’t it? This inscription found at the entrance to the gates of hell now if you will bear with me I hope to show why its a complete typo that should read.

"All ye who enter here hath abandon hope"

If you're anything like almost everyone else on the planet and in this i very much include myself you have almost certainly abandoned many goals, to get fit, to learn a new language, to write a book, to learn a new skill, whatever it may have been and regardless of the desire to achieve you many have abandoned your goals at some stage in your life.

Now I didn't write this adventure to rub your nose or mine in previous failures, I tagged this word because this word has power its very definition gives a great hint as to why we abandon our goals lets take a closer look.

Let me rewrite that definition into a a little spiel for you.

Man moves away from his goals without real intent to return, he may tell himself that he will one day return to his labours to it but in truth he has given up, he has ceased his works and abandon his attempt.
What cause should man have to leave such work unfinished but his complete and utter yielding to that emotion fear and the abandonment of hope for his works.

Let me leave you with .

If you would like to follow me @shai-hulud in these adventures please feel free alternatively if you write to educate can I suggest the tag #steemucation

Feel like following and inspiring woman check out my wife @insideoutlet

Kind Regards

Peter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64196.23
ETH 2757.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71