Why I’m quitting teaching part 10/11: The 15% cut in further education funding and 12% pay cut

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Why I’m quitting teaching part 10/11: The 15% cut in further education funding and 12% pay cut


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

I didn't realize it was that bad with the wage increases or lack thereof in the UK. What's even worse is CPI or other similar cost of living indexes are constantly understated by government to make inflation appear lower then it actually is.

This is something that we are going to see play out in most if not all industrialized nations in one form or another because the overall debt levels in the economy are way too high and getting worse.

Higher taxes and reduced government spending on critical services and infrastructure is going to be the norm going forward.

Quite! My college has used my leaving as an excuse to restructure and pay the new 'course leader', rather than 'head of department' £1.5K less for doing the same job with no remission.

It's just inexcusable!

I have a lot of sympathy. I've mainly worked with adults students with a lot of additional needs, it's very hard work and very difficult to manage in groups larger than twelve. Oh yes, you can do it, but students aren't really getting what they should have. I've become quite interested in the street corner university (and the anti-university) idea, but just now I'm too exhausted earning a living to pursue it!

I hear you. I think the only way to stay in the system is to go part time and find some kind of other way to supplement your income.

The thing about education these days, is that there's so much information out there, you can access it yourself once you're beyond A-levels easily enough!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66952.44
ETH 3091.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72