Astrology-Can The Planets Influence Us?

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

I was reading @iseeyouvee’s post on the iPhone photo of the day in #photography and she referred to zodiac signs. This got me thinking of my long ago visit to an astrologer. I could do a writeup on my experience and throw out thoughts on how the planets affect conditions on earth with a few insightful quotes by Shakespeare.

At the time of my visit to the astrologer, I was working for a Credit Union. Going for a peek into the future by card /crystal ball readers, sleeping seers and phychics was a popular pastime among the staff. I was as interested as the rest.

It was buzzing around the office about a Mr. Cheetham who could tell your fortune by knowing your birth date.

”You must go Jo.” One co-worker said to me, “This man is really good. He knew so much about my life, I couldn’t believe it how he knew the troubles with my husband. Here’s his phone number to make an appointment.”

I was always interested in anything paranormal or mystical and it was game on to see this man. After phoning him and leaving the location and time of my birth, it was a couple weeks before I could get an appointment. Mr. Cheetham was a popular astrologer!

There were a few co-workers who looked at astrology as a puedo science and hocus pocus bull crap based on superstition and ignorance. They saw it is a heathen pagan practise against God and their church teachings.

I was told by one friend astrology was the devil’s work. I respected their beliefs but was going to see this Mr. Cheetham regardless whether he had horns and a tail!

***********************

On the other side, throughout the centuries, kings, queens, presidents and other rulers have used the skills of an astrologer to improve their chances for success. Ronald Regan and Adolf Hilter pop into my mind.

Over the years it has become public knowledge Hilter didn’t make a move without consulting his astrologer. When the end was near he got rid of his astrologers when they didn’t tell him what he wanted to hear.

Full Moon

Scientists have proven the cycles of the moon has a pull on the ocean tides and the immigration of some animals and birds.

It may be considered folk legend but is a popular belief the erratic behaviour of certain individuals escalates during days around a full moon.

My mother would say,

”The full moon got your father again this month!”

She meant around the full moon he was grumpier than usual or had been drinking. I often wondered if he used the full moon as an excuse to act up that month.

If the moon can influence water and life on this planet, I am open to the idea the whole planetary system can pack a wallop on earthlings.

One of the greatest authors of all times, Shakespeare, made reference to astrology numerous times in his works.

Troilus And Cressida, Act 1, Scene 3

”The heavens themselves, the planets, and this center
Observe degree, priority, and place,
Insisture, course, proportion, season, form,
Office, and custom, in all line of order.”

*************************



I am not saying astrology is an exact science or one should consult an astrologer but my experience with astrology was an eye-opener.

It was many years ago when I went to see the astrologer ~ the hour session left a lasting impression. I was totally surprised by the reading.

The astrologer, Mr. Cheetham, did not know me and the only information he had was the time and location of my birth. With this information he did a chart up before my visit.

Astrology Chart

11B25825-151B-4B11-B487-8C542F935375.jpeg

Image Source

I arrived at the astrologer’s home and was welcomed to a comfortable office set up in the basement where he proceeded to interpret the meaning of the all the symbols he had previously drawn on a chart.

Looking at the chart I could see he had manually done a lot of detailed work ~ this was before all the personal computers.

Throughout the reading I sat open-mouthed while Mr. Cheetham explained about the position of the planets at my birth and at the present time. Had he been reading my mail?

He had my personality spot on, then proceeded to talk about the circumstances at my birth and how the present movement of the planets could have an effect on me.

I will touch on a couple things discussed in the hour session;

The astrologer told me I was born under the Taurus Full Moon with Sun in secretive Scorpio. Then he explained where all the other planets were in the heavens when I was born.


For example, Mars, known by astrologers as the red planet of the warrior, is on my Scorpio Sun, giving me lots of flight or fight strength. This can also work against me - It gives strength to put up with things it would be easier for me to let go.

Dhuck! Dhadak! Pffft! There’s the rub! Mercury, the winged messenger, was within a few degrees of my Mars and is to blame for the fast firing gunpowder shooting out of my mouth ~ but being made aware of this trait, I can control it most of the time. I stop and think 🤔 before I speak or write...ahhh... I try to!

Mr. Cheetham could compare your chart with your spouse or lover and tell by the position of Venus and Mars if it was a good sexual match. Jupiter also plays a part in a happy relationship.

“So much for thinking it was good looks, tight clothes and pleasing personality that attracted him!”

Whether Mr. Cheetham had psychic powers or was a really good astrologer, the reading of my stars felt right. Metaphorically, I liked the idea of an invisible sword of Mars by my side. I will only bring it out if absolutely necessary!

**********************

It’s kind of scary to think our fate lies in the stars but aren’t we also suppose to have some God-given free will?

Or are we merely puppets for this greater force as Shakespeare’s quote implies?

Is the following quote a hint at reincarnation? Reincarnation is part and parcel of the belief in astrology and the cause and effect of the people connected from a past life.

Karma is the word tossed around for this belief of what goes around comes around.

In astrology, the continual path of one’s life force is connected to the north node of the moon in the natal chart. I never did find out what path the astrologer thought I was on in this lifetime.

In the following quote from As You Like It, did Shakespeare refer we have seven lifetimes to go through?

Shakespeare Quote



28020855-B338-431E-B5D2-19099C51E039.jpeg


My experience with astrology was like a key opening a door to another level of understanding life here on this planet.

I would love to hear your opinions on astrology and whatever has opened up a new world of understanding to you.

From Shakespeare’s Hamlet

”There are more things in heaven and earth, Horiato
Than can be dreamt of in your philosophy”

*************************



All photos by @redheadpei unless otherwise noted.




E58EA802-7316-4C23-A322-EE1C9B4561D6.jpeg

Sort:  

Thanks and for stopping by!

Excellent post @redheadpei! My first mother-in-law was an Astrologist. She used to be invited on cruise ships to read for passengers. She didn't use the computer programs either but did have reference books. She did my chart and was pretty spot on with a lot of info. She could also tell you how many guides and Angels you had watching over you. She was a lovely person that is no longer on this plane and she was a pretty good Astrologist.

Thanks @deerjay and for your comments on having connection with astrology. Your M-I-L must have been a fun person. Sorry she is no longer on this plane. ♥️

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by redheadpei from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great post my dear! In fact Astrologers got something unique, it is up to someone to believe it or not!

Thanks for visiting @bornprince. Yes it is a different way of looking at things.

Always welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86