You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can We Take For Granted Everything We Are Told In School?

I used to be a high school math teacher, so a lot of this resonated with me. After only 1 month on the job I quickly began to realize how much of teaching and the education system is about paperwork and following these old systems and rules that are in place. I had so many aspirations and dreams of things I would teach my kids, but I never had a chance because of how the education system is run. It was all about test scores, and passing the State test at the end of the year. It was all too much for me, I couldn't keep it up.

I'm thankful for teachers like you who are challenging the system and finding ways to be innovative and encourage students to take their own initiative to learn and take charge of their own lives. Keep up the good work!

Sort:  

Hi @rainbowrachel. As you said, there's so much focus on the paperwork and other things that the true purpose of education is overlooked. I understand the insistence to get youngsters motivated for school because it's going to help them develop their social skills, but is it worth the knowledge they will receive there? No wonder why some parents prefer in-home tutoring, and even student themselves choose self-studying.

There are, of course, institutions around the world that strive for innovation and support free thinking. They guide and encourage properly. But sadly, it's a minority.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58805.73
ETH 2642.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45