๐Ÿ’œ A Lesson in Edwardian Furniture ๐Ÿ’œ

in #steemiteducation โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

furn cover.jpg

You know me by now. I love history, design and antiques. I've just bought the most stunning Edwardian dressing table for my shop, and it inspired me to give a lesson in Edwardian furniture.

"The Edwardian era was a leisurely time when women wore picture hats and did not vote, when the rich were not ashamed to live conspicuously, and the sun really never set on the British flag'"

Samuel Hynes (author)

๐Ÿ’œ INSPIRATION & INFLUENCES๐Ÿ’œ

The Edwardian period was a very short time in history, but had a lasting impact. It really is one of my favourite design eras. I am in love with the simple lines and beautiful finishes.

The Edwardian era dates from 1901 - 1910, and is so called as King Edward had just ascended the throne in England. People were looking for something different from the heavy, dark feeling of the Victorian era.

Looking back after the wars, this brief period when King Edward was at the throne was seen as light hearted, "golden era". This is reflected in the style of furniture, clothing and lifestyle. Ladies clothes were made from lighter fabric to allow for their more active lifestyles, women were becoming more politicized (this is the time of the Suffragette) and at the time London was the financial centre of the world, and things were gooood.

EdwardianFashionsGraphicsFairy1.jpg

source

The furniture and design of the time pulled influence from the Georgian and Tudor eras

๐Ÿ’œ MAIN CHARACTERISTICS๐Ÿ’œ

Edwardian furniture is easily recognized by it's simple, beautiful leg, and understated gable (the curved bit at the top)

This is perfectly illustrated by this desk that I have recently purchased for my shop.

950 x 104 x 590 - R13680.jpg

Often made from mahogany and walnut, and sporting some craftsmanship of note - another characteristic of Edwardian furniture (but not limited to only Edwardian) is the inlay or marquetry of a lighter or darker wood in a pattern.

Edwardian_mahogany_inlaid_bijouterie_cabinet_010_l.jpg

๐Ÿ’œ MY EDWARDIAN DRESSING TABLE ๐Ÿ’œ

I was super excited to see this dressing table at a recent auction, and was even more surprised to have no competition when I bid.

crazy.gif

MY FACE WHEN I SAW I HAD NO COMPETITION

๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ Look at this beauty in all her glory. I love this piece. I'm sure it will go to a good home ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ

1700 x 1270 x 620 - R18240 incl vat . (4).jpeg1700 x 1270 x 620 - R18240 incl vat .(1).jpeg

What do you think? Do you love her too?

Let me know in the comments your favourite design era!

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort: ย 

If I were asked, I'm certainly not into antiques or designs of any sort. But I want that table with the oval mirror

nice follow you thans....

I like this design era, but my personal fav. , my cats meow is.... like the 1940 era vanity, like I am not positive what you call it....is it called federal style?? They are mahogany and more plain, simpler with a detached mirror usually square shape. Your addition to your shop is gorgeous though and I bet it won't be long before someone swipes it up. Another good post and thank you for making it.

I really like this kind of antiques. Such things become more valuable over the years. It's like wine - it's getting more expensive and tasty every year. I think that this analogy with good furniture is relevant.

I am really inspired with these kind of antiques. Even its getting expensive day b day, but its demand increases too. Your collection is so impressive.

another excellent post with kitteh power, I absolutely adore Antiques and collect some myself but most is in storage :(
However, that is a lovely piece
MustHaveWater.gif
my face on most posts

Hello the truth I do not know much about antiques, but what I do know is that that dresser is beautiful, I thank you for the information since now I can say that I know the Edwardian style greetings and I invite you to visit my blog!

Look at the antique and the design it's total mastery, though the history that existed with it is not so amazing

I agree. History has been unkind.

I do believe however, that one cannot know where they are going if they donโ€™t know where they are from, ie history is something to be learned from

Thanks for your comment ๐Ÿ’œ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’“

I was swept off my feet. Beautiful furnitures made from good woods.You have a good taste over there my princess.

Congratulation @princessmewmew for your new edwardian dressing table, i'm glad to hear that and i'm enjoying it, sis! ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿ™โ™ฅโ™ฅ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36