You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Conjure and Practice Empathy

I am amazed at the way people seem to don’t care about what others are going through or dealing with in life unless it happens to them or affects them in some way. If it’s not affecting them, they don’t give a HOOT! I believe this is another one of the many problems we have in our society and in the world in general. I am not saying that we are to take on other people’s personal issues (I would never say that), or to turn a blind eye if their personal issue is affecting their lively hood. But I am saying when we are told of an issue we should, at least, take a moment to put ourselves in that person’s shoes and show some form of understanding of what they may be experiencing, and acknowledge, the fact that they are going through something. We see it every day when a child or spouse or even a friend comes to us with a problem and we are too busy at that moment to listen. We say things like “I am busy right now, can we talk about it later?” only to find out later was forgotten about and therefore never arrived.

Sort:  

You reminded me of a sad video that I wish I would never have seen a few years ago. It was captured by traffic cams. It first shows a dog who was hit on a freeway. Another dog braved four lanes of fast moving traffic, grabbed his injured friend by the scruff, and drug his injured body all four lanes to safety. I cried. Then it showed footage of a child who was hit on a road. People kept right on going. I cried harder.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41