Dear Minnow (part 17) - WHAT IS CURATION? TOOLS FOR AUTOMATIC CURATION ON STEEMIT + 10 Nigerian STeemians On My AutoCuration List

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

Dear Minnow,

Have you ever heard about automatic curation? Did you understand what it means? If yes, lemme tell you how to make it work for you. If "no", lemme explain what it is and then show you how to utilize it for maximum enjoyment. Basics first...1.2.3...go!


WHAT IS CURATION?

Here's the best defintion I could find of the term "curation".

Curation is the selection of something such as documents, music, or internet content to be included as part of a list or collection or on a website
Cambridge Online Dictionary

We may have come across this word being used in relation to a museum or an art gallery. However, in the modern world where technology reigns, Steemit is redefining that terminology and spreading its meaning to places where it would ordinarily not have been used.

There are many types of curation including but not limited to: Data curation, Digital curation, Social curation and our beloved Content Curation. Let's explore the concept of content curation and how we can all benefit from it.


CONTENT CURATION & STEEMIT REWARDS

Those who use this platform quickly realize that there are 2 major ways of earning here.

  • 1. Content Creation: the process of BLOGGING original stuff about anything. The more solid or valuable your content is, the more rewards you earn for it...if all factors are kept constant.
  • 2. Content Curation: this describes the process of getting rewarded for posts that you upvoted on Steemit. The rewards from every post is shared 75% for the author/creator and 25% for the curators.

So for example, if a post made $100, the author gets $75 at payout (7days later) while the curators share the remaining $25. The sharing formular of this curator reward now depends on the number of curators that found the post and the voting power of the curators involved.


MANUAL VS AUTOMATIC CURATION

STeemit began as a platform where everything was basically done manually. You find posts you like on your feeds or find authors you love and read their posts. WHen you like a post, you upvote it hence directly increasing the earnings of the post based on your steem power. Now what if you weren't available for whatever reasons? You are ill, your relative died or you had an annoyingly hectic and busy day? Then comes the Bots.

To save you from missing the curation of posts by reliable authors, you now have the option of Automatic curation. Whether you are online or not, whether you are busy with something else, those authors on your curation list will always get upvoted whenever they post something.

This does not rule out the need to read and comment on people's posts. This only prevents you from missing upvoting important posts you would have loved to upvote regardless.

Screenshot_2017-11-16-07-49-39.png
Source


POPULAR TOOLS FOR AUTOMATIC CURATION

  • 1. JOIN A CURATION TRAIL:

Perhaps you know one or two curators that are doing a good job of finding awesome content, you can follow their trail and upvote whatever they upvote as well. Examples include @curie, @ocd, @onequality, @airhawk-project, @steemnaira. If you follow any of these trails, you are actually rewarding people with quality contents and you will earn curation rewards for it. However, you will find that these ones have already been saturated (esp. the first 2) by people with very high SP. SO it may not benefit you much as a minnow.

- Tools for joining curation trails include:
    - [STREEMIAN.COM](www.streemian.com)
    - [STEEMAUTO.COM](www.steemauto.com) etc
  • 2. CREATE YOUR OWN VOTING LIST

This is the method I am recommending for all minnows. All you have to do is find those authors who have been consistently adding value here on Steemit and add them to AUTOVOTER LIST. The paramount tool for doing this is STEEMVOTER.COM.

On the settings of RULES for each individual on the list, you can determine the voting weight you want to use and the timing of the Auto-Upvote.



SO HERE'S MY LIST OF 10 STEEMIANS I JUST ADDED TO MY AUTOCURATION LIST (SINCE YESTERDAY)

I chose active Nigerian Steemians for this list to support the community. I also tried to distribute my vote to equal numbers of males and females. I must confess that many awesome Nigerians are not on this list. However, I will work on including more persons as time goes on. If I notice low quality posts from any of my list members, I may remove the person but I think I will most likely not experience that coz these are trusted people. Thanks so much. Let's do this Fam! Ladies First...

1 @phunke
2 @iloegbunamagnes
3 @famouzqueen
4 @nmalove
5 @noraliza


6 @ogochukwu
7 @michaelcj
8 @tfame3865
9 @pangoli
10 @honourmaus

Bonus: @greenrun!


Feel free to add me to your Autocuration List. The HUG will be appreciated. Cheers fam!


pexels-photo.jpg
PEXELS.COM



PS: Don't forget to give someone a nice soothing hug today. You would get yours too, I promise! #Hug-Challenge is for you!

Hug_Challenge.png
Coutesy @ogochukwu



I remain me, my mouth and eye @nairadaddy aka SteemDaddy. My aim is to leave you better than I found you everyday!

U5dto_Zp5we_Jxs_Fb_Qr3sfkx_Ftb_Rf_WDZp.gif
Courtesy @stellabelle

Sort:  

Hi i am @ackza posting as my friend @tytran so maybe you want to follow him and help me help him! I will upvote you guys in Team Ghana/Nigeria/Africa ad maybe you can follow this account of my friend @tytran ? :D

he let me use his posting key to upvote you guys part of Steem #africa And steemit #teamghana

I have you a $1-$2 upvote (depending on how much Vote Power I have left)
So follow this account and you will get to know about his latest giveaways and contests!

Thanks so much @ackza and @tytran. i'm glad there are people like you looking out for Africans here on Steemit. I have followed both accounts. I'll definitely be on the lookout for contests...saw the last one where he gave away 200SBD. Cheers Sir!

Wow! I've always wondered how to go about this autovoter stuff! I'm giving it a try right away!

Great to see a lot of amazing authors on your list! I'm honoured to be featured as well!

@greenrun sure is a steal for this community! Awesome guy.

And you too! 🙌 ain't no way we're leaving you outta this!

Great post @nairadaddy.

Steem on! 🐬
#Hugs-challenge

Hey @pangoli. My witty and curious friend... I like that you are full of life and ideas. I like that you take time to research everything you write down. I especially love those your TED talk series and Vlogs. Wow! You got alot of things going. So you deserve my autocuration list. Its not everything but its a good start.

And yeah. Greenrun is the man!

Lets go to the moon brov! Cheers!

#Hug-Challenge!

Our able daddy, naira daddy, hug daddy and steem daddy on this one again

Funny to have @greenrun on the bonus list LOL.....

This post is of a great delivery!

Thanks for the inclusion...

Cheers!!!

#hug-challenge

There are some people you just can't not mention. (Double negatives) Lolx. And he's one of them.

You are a great guy too. Just trying to spread the love with the little I have got right now. I believe more will come for us to share. Cheers man!

LOLX @ all the names I'm being called here.

#Hug-Challenge!

believe more will come for us to share

Definitely!!!

Am so moved by the way everyone is helping every one on this platform, its like each persons progress is based on the number of people you are able to help, most promotional contest is always based like this, i keep saying this steemit is the best and the hope for future, thanks @nairadaddy for this rare opportunity i barely met you but i already know your intentions are good...thanks i will try it out.

Thanks bro @deeclown for the compliment. You are a very observant person from what I have noticed.

its like each persons progress is based on the number of people you are able to help

Yes indeed. We are all connected by this blockchain. We are the content providers and the content curators too. SO we must all collaborate for the good of all involved. Cheers bro.

steemit is the best and the hope for future

You will definitely do well here if you keep talking like that! Steem to the moon!

#Hug-Challenge!

Steemit spammers are usually the first to comment on posts today. My post got two of them. That is annoying.

Awesome that I made it to a list of amazing people on steemit. I never really knew I'm that interesting :)

Gracias.

Lolx. You are more than amazing...you are versatile, cheerful and nice.

On the issue of spammers. I just simply ignore them. Lolx.

Cheers to a better Steemiverse for all of us!

#Hug-Challenge!

I ignore them too. Best way to deal with em.

Very nice post :) @nairadaddy
Hope so you wll check my recent post thankyou

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by NairaDaddy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

hi,
nairadaddy, nice to read about you.
am jeevansantoshi from india,am also new on steemit and welcome you to steemit.
i have followed you.So,can also follow me.
Best of luck!

i have done to your post and its your turn to my post.please upvote my post y earnings are very poor