Part Three: Things I Wish I Knew Before Becoming A Parent. Its OK to Change Your Mind

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

part three things i wished i knew about parenting.jpg

Welcome to Part Three of my series: Things I wish I knew before becoming a parent. These are simple little almost nothings that would have made life as a parent easier for me, if I had fully understood them. In Part One I shared about how instant love is a myth. In Part Two I shared about how children don't fulfill you.

Today, Im writing about the importance of letting yourself change your mind.

It is perfectly ok to change your mind

Something that I hear a lot of parents talk about is consistency. If you want to be an effective parent, you have to be consistent with your child.

Be consistent with your consequences.

Be consistent with your expectations.

Be consistent with what your children can expect from you.

Be consistent with your rules.

Be consistent with dinner time.

Be consistent with medical and dental visits.

Be consistent with your consistency

All of those things are great. But they used to make me feel like it was a big deal to change my mind. If my daughter got in trouble for going into the fridge last week, then if she does it again this week, she should get in trouble. Consistent rules, consistently give for well rounded children.

But. What if after calling your child's attention for getting into the fridge without permission, you realize that you don't really care if they help themselves to some snacks? Well, then, even though it doesn't work for other people, you change your rules and adjust.

For me, it works better for my children to have a piece of fruit whenever they feel hungry, as long as they are going to finish the whole piece of fruit and I don't have the fruit saved for a specific dish (they know). Its easier for me, for them, and for their sugar levels if they can consume fruit when they feel like they need to.

I was forcing myself to stop and help them with all of their snacks because that was the "right" way to do it. Well, the "right" way doesn't work for me, so I simply let myself change my mind about what was "right."

I change the rules a lot

And that is ok with me, and that is ok with my children.

Sometimes while stumbling through life, I realize that some of my house rules exist simply because they existed in my parents' house.

Some of those rules flew out the door pretty easy. Like how a kid should wear their hair, or when dresses should be worn.

Others took a long time, but left anyway: "Children should go to school."

Some rules, I got rid of, then brought right back. "No sleepovers."

Ok, you can have a sleepover. Then back. NO SLEEPOVERS.

One thing is very consistent. My kids know that I love them and that the reason the rules change is because I am adjusting to what I think is best for them.

You don't have to explain your change of mind to anyone, including yourself

Because is a perfectly good answer. I REALLY do have a bunch of reasons for not letting my kids go to sleepovers.

Really though, the main reason, is that it doesn't feel good in my gut.

I let my children question me, all the time. They can ask me why as many times as they want. But I don't have to answer them. And if I answer, because it doesn't feel right, then they have to accept that answer.

Why?

Because some things you just know. And its ok to just know.

It feels like a silly permission really

It feels a little like common sense that its ok to change your mind, but I still had a hard time with it. Maybe its because I feel consistency is important. Maybe its because I was taught to keep my word. Maybe its because I felt that changing my mind made me weak and like I didn't know what I was doing.

Maybe it was because I wasn't confident in my parenting and needed some type of outside authority to tell me I was doing a good job. How could I disagree with my parents, or schools, or society? Well, I just do.

And if one day, I want to go back to doing the way I did things before, then I will. Its ok to change your mind and then change your mind BACK.

I am very happy for letting my parenting evolve the way it has. I am happy that I gave myself permission to change.

Do you give yourself permission to change your mind?

Sort:  

Even if I don't give myself permission to change my mind it may later hurt me. I am not yet a parent but I learn from you. Yes consistency is good and OK cuz it helps and it controls as you said.

How I wish my future wife is reading this post.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

That's great thinking @metzli, I agree with you..actually a mother is entitled to make rules in the family especially for her child, it is the right of a mother to give the best for her children be it things that may or should not they do, like I advise my children to eat fruit as they snack rather than buying fast food, and my children also know if I do it for theirself, because I think keeping them always healthy is my duty.

It is very open minded from you to change your mind anytime anywhere.
I am not a mother so I am not able to reply to your last question, but I can tell you that my dad and mum did not agree most of the times about rules for me. It was all very confusing and they were loading the responsibility to each other.

I am so very excited for you! I say that because you are slamming these educational posts and are doing a heck of a job on writing them! Yay for you lady!!! 😃😘

We are constantly still learning as adults and parents. Our kids teach us quite a few things along the way. I don’t think everything has to be consistent because as we learn, our minds change and that’s okay. I totally agree with you on this. There may be something my husband and I decide this month then we reevaluate it again 2 months later and decide to change our decision. On top of that as our children get older rules and expectations will change so therefore consistency goes out the window lol!

I enjoy reading your posts!! They get me thinking! 😉

I think being able to change rules will be even more important as the children grow up. With their age of course the rules change so you are doing a great thing by being able to adapt and change from early on. :)
And of course, one can't know what works best right away.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by metzli from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01