You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Helping Children To Cope With Failure In A Demanding World

Hi @sweetpea, wow, you totally got me with this one:

Don't judge a fish by its ability to climb trees.

As parents, sometimes we fail to identify our children's abilities, and unintentionally benchmark them against the wrong standards. That totally stresses out the child, and the parents too in the process. Heck, how much did we liked it when we were benchmarked wrongly when we were young, right?

I wrote a post long ago on this topic, of how the school system can sometimes be like a page taken out of from a storybook on jungle animals.

Sort:  

Oh my, well, I definitely consider my child as a jungle animal, he does have a bit of a wild streak ;) but yes, we benchmark way to early, I even have mom friends who are convinced that their three-year-olds are going to be musicians...but so much can change as a child grows, if they like playing with music now, that's fine, let them play! But forcing lessons and creating a stigma about it at such a young age can put so much pressure on the young and growing minds.

Totally high five with you on that! Some parents are just into control mode! Worst are those who forced their children to live the dreams they failed!

Parents tend to do that yes! Even I catch myself encouraging my child to do something every now and then, that I wished I had done when I was younger (parenting really is so complex)!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44