Sometimes You Just Have To Go Out In Mismatched Clothes and That's Okay

in #steemiteducation5 years ago

I forgot to do laundry. It's been a while. Typically, I try to ensure my toddler and I have clean clothes on the weekends but with my ducks injured from a dog attack I forgot. My husband does his own laundry but I take care of mine and our daughter's.

Yesterday, I really didn't care what I looked like. I realized I didn't have any clean clothes. Little Rabbit got spaghetti for lunch dirtying one outfit. Then, she got hold of my open bottle of water and drenched a second outfit. That left no matching clothes clean for either of us!

That's okay though. We didn't have anywhere fancy to go and enjoyed our mismatched clothes which were comfy to take a walk around the yard. I found a pair of my husbands fleece pajama pants and wore those even though they are a few sizes too big. I also wore a shirt that said "I heart my geek" on it. My daughter wore a pink hoodie, some crazy flower pants that don't match anything, and mismatched socks. Daddy left for the day and her shoes were in the car so I let her roam around in socks since it wasn't too cold.

My daughter's mismatched outfit

IMG_8620.JPG

It's About Quality Time

Some might shame me for forgetting to do the laundry and having myself and my kid running around in mismatched clothes. I don't see a reason why. My day was all about Little Rabbit and taking care of my household. I cooked two meals for Little Rabbit and I. I tended to my injured ducks every few hours. I cleaned the duck coop and had Little Rabbit right next to me all day meddling in everything. When you have a toddler every task takes ten times longer to finish. While waiting for 7:00 when I put the ducks up in their coop for the night my daughter and I played outside for a long time. I am teaching her how to play basketball on a child's goal so we practiced. I let her chase the cats and feed the ducks. My daughter got all of my attention and had a great time.

I often hate having to perform for society. Society puts pressure on people to look a certain way to be accepted. When you break the rules of conformity people react with rudeness and criticism. I'm sure if I went out to town in oversized pajama pants with my kid in mismatched clothes people might judge me badly and think I was a lazy and terrible parent.

That's far from the truth. I just didn't have time to do laundry over the weekend. As a mom I take care of my two year old, 4 ducks (2 of which are injured from a dog attack), 5 cats, and a husband. Some days my plate is full and I don't have time to ensure all chores are done. A person can be a good parent but forget to do the laundry every once in a while.

IMG_8619.JPG

Some days you have to let yourself say screw it to the laundry to spend time with your kid. Little Rabbit doesn't get as much time outside now that the weather is getting cold. Since the weather was nice I felt I owed her a good romp in the yard. She got to play and have fun with her mom. I got time to show her how to play basketball and she's oh so close to actually being able to catch the ball when I toss it to her. She just needs a little practice.

Eventually, I got a load of laundry in when Little Rabbit went to bed for the night. Today we happily wore matching clothes and all was right with the world. My ducks are doing better and Little Rabbit was in such a happy mood that there were very few meltdowns. She's growing up so fast! I think it's a good thing to leave the laundry and the chores for later to enjoy what precious time I have with her. Far too soon the adorable toddler days will be gone. That's a sad thing to think about. At least when we're both older I can say I lived in the moment and made lots of good memories with my kid.

Banner marx.jpg

Sort:  

"Some days you have to let yourself say screw it to the laundry to spend time with your kid."

Right on, my friend!

Society may not say it, but I will: You rock! :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

You are right.sometimes its fun to wear some odd clothes.i myself sometime wear my brother shirt what is bigger my size but that's ok for me.as a mother u do many work at home.its obvious to forget something.who tell a shame of u is who are don't know about household chores.i am a student and i do household work also beside my study.your post is awesome mam and i really like it.

I always keep my socks together, so they always match, even when I haven't done laundry in ages. As long as my socks match, then I'm good hehe I just like matching socks. Sometimes I try to make my bra match my underwear lol Frank will have mismatched socks all the time, he doesn't care. Though, I can have a weird outfit but if I have my matching socks, I'm good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94