You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The First Day of ESL Class Resources

As a fellow English teacher, I can relate to all these techniques! ^^ The most important thing for me is to make them feel like they aren't doing something that have to do, but want to do... It can be hard, especially with kids... (I teach mostly adults).

Round-robin story-telling is really one of the best things =) ... I even brought it over here to Steemit as an experiment, as you saw ;)

And wow... That meeting with Jinu must have been awesome for you! =)

Sort:  

You are really multi-talented @mandelsage. I'm totally impressed at your artwork and your classroom. I looked through my old posts and see a basic trend that about half are about education and half are about mining the heart. I will continue to post either an English talk-tip or learning/ teaching experience half the time and the other half some things on my mind personally.

Thank you for this wonderful comment. I'm mutually happy to see a teacher in Brazil engaging students. Your class must be a blast. I taught college students for a while. If I had an adult class I would do a lot more mystery role plays. Like before they walked into the class I would use tape to outline a human figure shadow on the floor. When students walk in they start asking questions. Then in groups they have to solve the mystery. That kind of stuff I can't do with kids. Everything is rated G for general audience.

Jinu was a surprise as he came just at the time I was about to head out for home. At first I really could not recognize him because he was so big. In that last three years he shot up like a rocket and he must have been exercising and eating well. I had to look up to him to talk. Also he coudn't speak much English three years ago. I didn't teach him much either but just being there he overcame that feeling that English is impossible and he started to study by himself. It was awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36