Lucius, The Young Elf (An Original Children's Story)

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

Image Source


Once upon a time, back when magical creatures still existed amongst us, there lived a young elf named Lucius. He was very smart and had a good heart to match. His whole community was fond of him, as Lucius had always helped anyone in need.

One day, a little girl got lost inside the forest where Lucius and his family lived. She was gathering some berries with her old woven basket, and was supposed to go back when she realized that she couldn't find her way. She wandered deeper into the woods until the last glimpse of the sun had faded into the horizon.

At that time, Lucius was on his way home after gathering some twigs for the cold night. He heard the girl's sobs not far from where he was, and he hurriedly went to see where it was coming from.

"Little human, what's the matter? Why are you upset?," he asked when he found the girl.

"I..I think I've lost my trail. I've been trying to find my way, but it's already dark and my Momma must be very worried," the little girl answered in between sobs.

"Hush, now. The wolves might find you here. It's not safe. Come with me, my mother had cooked a delicious meal. We'll find your home in the morning."

The little girl hesitated at first, but soon realized that the elf was right. She stood up and followed the small creature.

The elf's home was surprisingly big -- even bigger than her own house. Lucius introduced the little girl to his family as his friend, though they have just met a few minutes ago.

"What a pleasure to have you here, my dear. Come, join us for supper," mother elf said.

So the girl sat down with them, and had the most delicious meal she had ever had. That night, she was given the most comfortable bed to sleep in. She was very happy, and soon she fell asleep.

It was a few hours past midnight when she was awoken by a commotion outside.

"Margaery! Margaery my dear. Where are you?" The little girl recognized the voice at once. It was her mother! She immediately jumped out of the bed and ran outside to see her. Her mother was not alone, with her was a group of fierce-looking men who carried torches and weapons.

"Mother! I am here!," she cried. "I was found by a kind elf and invited me to stay here for the night."

"Found? You've been abducted!," one of the men exclaimed.

"No! That's not true! I couldn't find my way home, and he was going to help me when the morning comes. Lucius and his family helped me!"

But the men won't hear any of it. By then, the whole elf community was already outside, watching them. Lucius was there as well, and as soon as one of the men picked up a stone to throw at the young elf, the elves around them whispered their spells to protect their friend. The man threw the stone at Lucius with all of his might, but the stone only bounced back and hit him on the head, knocking him unconcious.

The other men started throwing rocks as well, and the same thing happened.

"Leave, now. You're no longer welcome here," the eldest elf said to the young girl.

"I am so sorry. I didn't mean to hurt anyone," the girl said and started crying.

"They're right, Margaery. I think it would be best if you leave now. And you need to rest, anyway, after all that has happened.

The little girl and his mother were ushered to their home, as well as the men who were still asleep.

The elves sealed the forest with a protection spell to keep them hidden and to avoid any interactions with humans. They couldn't risk their safety, knowing that some people can easily hurt an innocent creature.

The little girl never saw Lucius again, or any elf for that matter. But she had never forgotten about their kindness, and continued to tell her tale to her grandchildren.



Sort:  

Awes, such a sweet story! I was intrigued by the title, I love elves and stories that include them!

Me too! Thank you @sweetpea! I'm glad you liked it. 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72