A Promise To Keep (An Original Story)

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! How are you? Here is a story I made today about love and life. I hope you're going to like it. 😉



ENJOY! ❤




Image Source


“Please, just one more bite.” I begged her for what seemed like the hundredth time, trying to convince her to eat. She barely even touched her food, as usual, even after the trains and the airplanes and a couple more techniques.

“No! I want spaghetti! You promised me that we’re going to have spaghetti! You know that I don’t like eggs. And now, I don’t like you, too! You're such a horrible person!", she banged her thin hands on the table and walked out, leaving me speechless. It’s too early to lose my patience, but did she just say I’m horrible?


She wasn't like this before. She used to be so sweet and so thoughtful, with a warm smile painted on her lips all the time. I remember how I always felt so lucky to have her. I still do. But sometimes the situation gets a little too overwhelming, and I end up feeling angry and useless. I understand what she’s going through, but I’m just a human – I get tired and frustrated more often than I intend to be. I love her so much, with all my heart, and it just hurts seeing her like this.


I wipe my tears with the back of my palm, realizing she has every right to get mad at me. The spaghetti I promised her was way overdue. And it’s all my fault because it was the only thing I could tell her to convince her to eat. She loves spaghetti -- we both do. So over the past two weeks, I convinced her to finish off her meals and to take her meds, and in return I promised her that I’ll cook some spaghetti for her.


I never meant to break my promise. Heaven knows I will give anything to see her happy, and I’d willingly cook her favorite food everyday if I had the money. But my job doesn’t pay much and her doctor said we had to increase her intakes because her condition is getting worse. It breaks my heart every time I disappoint her, but I can’t afford to lose her!


I know she will understand. Maybe she’s just sad right now, but I'm sure she will understand.


Funny how I admire her more each day, despite our arguments – or maybe because those arguments. It reminds me of how wonderful a person she is and that I’ll never be as patient, as loving, and as caring as she had been. I imagine her being in my situation twenty years ago and I realize how well she handled it. I can’t help but wonder how she managed to smile despite my tantrums and my constant nagging, and how at the same time, she never failed to make me feel loved and cherished every day as I grew up.


That’s why I want to take care of this wonderful woman, no matter what it takes. Even when she yells at me at 3a.m., even when she gets out of control sometimes, even though she doesn’t remember who I am… I’ll take care of her. Because if I were in her situation, I know she’ll do the same. Without a doubt, in a heartbeat, I know she’ll get out of her way just to be with me.


This. This is what keeps me going. The fact that I am with her and that I have the greatest honor of being able to serve her – these are the things that give me strength.


She is my strength. She had always been my strength.


And my joy.


And my life.


“Please, make some spaghetti for lunch,” with an apologetic smile, she pokes out her head from her bedroom door, “Please? It will make me feel better. It reminds me of my baby girl.”


A tear rolled down from my eye, but I decided to conceal it with a laugh. I wonder if she used to do the same.


“Alright, spaghetti it is, then” I replied with a huge smile. Her reaction was priceless as it was very fulfilling. She immediately rushed to embrace me, showering me with tiny kisses on my cheeks.


“I don’t even know who you are, but I'm sure you are an angel! I’ll go and wash myself up so I could help you cook!,” she babbled like a little girl and started walking away, “I love you so much!” she called out before finally leaving the room.


And just like that, tears came running down my face. For she’s not only my strength, but above all, she’s my weakness.


“I love you too, Mom. Always,” and I’ll be sure to keep that promise.




Thank You For Reading!


❤❤❤





Sort:  

Oh this is so sad but so beautiful! It is such a moving story! This is much better than some of the short stories in womens magazines! The way you write, they could give you a regular slot! :)

Wow! Thank you dear. I'm glad you liked it. 😘

Wow - you have a talent and are using it. Really enjoyed this story

Thank you @alishi. 😀😀😀

what a story...
wow really nice i like it.
and share this post.

Thank you @tamim001! 😁

wc sis and ThQ

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33