Understanding the genetic variability from my family

0914_ti_gene-count_feat_free.jpg

Source

Many times we can ask ourselves:

Where do my traits come from?

Why am I tall if my whole family is short?

If I am black and my wife is white, will my children be skinned?

I would like to make an educative contribution, giving answer to some of those unknowns, using my family as an example for that purpose.

I hope this publication will be of benefit to many.

For visiting my blog thank you very much.

Welcome to my new publication.

separador.png

I do not intend to complicate the explanation with scientific terminology, but there is something basic that should be known in terms of genetics.

Our whole body is composed of cells, each cell has a nucleus that is where the genetic material is, packaged in the form of chromosomes, it is in these where all the information is contained, and the variation in the species is determined by several factors, that in summary accounts are going to be:

  • Random mixture of genes of the progenitors: In the diploid beings the homologous chromosomes (they contain genes for the same characters) are inherited one of a progenitor and the other of the other, producing random combinations of characters. It is this specifically that I want to talk about.

  • Combinations of chromosomes.

  • Recombination of genes.

It is just this the basis of genetics, of inheritance, of the study of the human genome. It is in the nucleus of every cell of our body that all the information of how we are is contained.

separador.png

I begin to explain some variations starting from my family tree.

In the image that follows, in the first instance you can see my grandfather and my maternal grandmother, at the bottom you can see my mother. I only place her, because I want to talk specifically about my family, without highlighting the father's side, of course. I must also say that my grandparents had three daughters, including my mother.

This particular characteristic of being three daughters is to be noted, there were no children. Sex to man is given by man, for genetic reasons, we have at the level of sperm the possibility of placing the other sex chromosome to the embryo in formation, being X or Y, giving one or the other the possibility that it is the humao in formation woman or man (Respectively.)

separador.png

In the following image you can see my dad and my mom, my brothers below (I have to highlight that they are the children of another dad), and on the right, I, an image when I was about 5 years old and a current photo.

You can appreciate that the resemblance to my parents is not so relevant, but it is in terms of the way of being, in the voice, mine is very similar to my dad's, my way of walking is very similar to my dad's. Not all similarities are going to be physical, they also have to do with the way of being, with how you laugh, walk, talk, that is also part of the inheritance.

separador.png

Below I present some images in which I want to highlight the following, I still do not have children and my sister either, but my brother has two, a boy and a girl. You can see in the upper part of the image my brother and his wife, below, in the central part of the image to my nephews. Beside these, on the right an image of how much I was a child, you can see the similarity that exists between us, genetics has its particular ways of expressing itself. And to the left of the image, a photo (which is somewhat blurred by time) of my brother as a child, had long hair, in which it can be seen that there is a great resemblance between his daughter and him, to that age.

As you may realize, you can not necessarily predict how our children will be, that responds to the way in which nature wants to express itself, and the * winning * genes * are those who will present themselves.

Own image

In my case and that of @franyeligonzalez, if at some point we decide to have children, we can not know with certainty what it would be like, maybe her mother's blue eyes, her slanted eyes (her father's inheritance), or my 183 cm tall or 150cm from my maternal grandmother, probably fat as my father's family or skinny as my maternal family, dark skin like my maternal or white grandfather like my paternal grandmother.

In short, the possibilities are endless, that is why the immense physical variability that exists in this world, which makes each one a unique being, but with characteristics that have been given by our relatives.

Note: images from different sources. The photographs are of the family album, some not very well preserved, by time; others from my facebook profile.

I hope I have clarified some points, I appreciate having visited my blog and read my publication.

If you have any questions or suggestions, you can gladly leave it in the comments, I will appreciate them.

JOSEVAS NEGRO.jpg

LOGO JOSEVAS217.jpg

si te gustó. INGLESjpgsteemit.jpg

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

@josevas217, In my opinion you've tried to explain the Chain Of Genes and the subject of Genes is very interesting because Genes are memory and it can remember the traits of genetical Ancestors too. Keep up the knowledgeable work.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your comment @chireerocks.

Actually everything concerning medical science everything that has to do with genetics and biochemistry I am passionate. I like it a lot, that's why I often read about it. Memory, yes, they are that in essence, in fact, we know a lot about our ancestors for that very reason.

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome and yes, we know something which is unsaid to us. Have a great time ahead.

Bookmark for later read

Thank you muy friendo @shortsegments

I hope the ingformation provided un this publication Will de useful.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59305.10
ETH 2602.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44