A little competition is a good thing, as long as you don't go overboard.

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

I'm a competitive person. I don't usually like to admit that, but it's true.

I love games. Pretty much any game that you can play on a table is one that I can play quite well.

I love playing pool. I love skeetball, bowling, video games, and anything else where two people can compete.

There's just a real feeling of victory when you get a higher score than someone else. It's a great feeling.


Source: Pixabay.com

Whether it's pool, a two person shooter, or a swimming competition........it feels great to win.

It's easy to forget, though, that the other person you're competing against has feelings. The truth is that people don't like to lose...... and some people take it harder than others.

We usually call these people sore losers, but the truth is if you continually beat someone and make a big deal out of it, then they just won't want to play you anymore.

Who wants to constantly lose?

Shortly after getting married I built my wife a new computer. It was faster and better than the one that I was using, and I was very proud of it. I also built her a desk and got a nice chair so that she had a comfortable computer area. The entire ensemble was sitting right by our balcony door.

My computer was in our bedroom, which was very close to the balcony door.

I networked the two computers together because I knew that my wife liked playing games. I also like playing games so I figured we could have a lot of fun playing video games and sharing a bond that way.

I bought 2 copies of my favorite games and installed them on both computers.

Strategy, first person shooter, action games..... we had every type of game you could think of.

At first it was a lot of fun. I constantly beat her and she would be upset, but I would take her out to dinner and all would be forgiven. Or so I thought.

As I continued to play, and I continued win, she was growing more and more weary of spending time with me in that fashion.

Soon enough she didn't want to do it anymore. It just wasn't fun for her and it was too late for me to fix things in that area. Finally our relationship broke apart. I don't think that the video game aspect was a big factor really, but I still think about it once in a while.

Did I act like a jerk when I won? I don't think I acted any more unreasonable than most people do when they win. However, that's not to say that I wasn't acting like a jerk. Don't you do a victory dance when you win? Don't you mock the other person just a little bit?

I think we all do. That's just kind of how things go. However, if you're playing someone try to remember that the relationship is more important than the game.

You can do a little dance or mock your partner or whatever you want to do as long as it's not a constant thing.

No one likes to lose all the time, and be mocked for it.

A little competition is a good thing, as long as you don't go overboard.

Sort:  

Agreed @jeezle. I think competition is healthy to a degree as it is a catalyst for drive... but some people can really take it to a different level... rendering it quite toxic at times.

That's true. It's not easy to tell when you're doing it either. Sometimes you get caught up in the moment don't realize that you're actually treating someone poorly.

yes absolutely! My brothers are much like that...lol No shortage of testosterone there lol

You like to play the game.The game improves our skills.I hope your wife is happy.

I hope she is too, wherever she might be.

a very nice post @jeezzle, I really like, thank you for sharing this useful post

Yes. Thanks.

steem steem steemit.it's a knowledgeable post.everyone will be benefited on this.keep it up and keep sharing.keep going on your way

Thanks.

Playing a game with your wife.You are a good minded people.Good job man.

Thank you for your comment.

Games refreshes our mind and when playing games with wife also one of the great idea.

Yes. Thank you.

a very nice post @jeezzle, I really like, thank you for sharing this useful post

I played break the ice today with my kids.

Its a game that comes with two hammers... they loved it.

I wouldn't judge myself to harshly for being a poor winner. You had a wife, you built a computer for her, you spent time with her and you treated her to dinner. She could just have easily found a game she would win at every once in a while.

When I was a kid, my sister and her then boyfriend used to play street fighter together, she really sucked at the game and he was really good, so she would make her power be a 10 and he would have to pay with the power of 1. He could never win no matter how many skills he had. It was all about having fun. If the people playing are having fun, it doesn't matter who wins or losses. (Or maybe that's only true when the game includes hammering)

That's true. I see competition as a healthy boost. Since nobody wants to lose,they work hard and thats a good thing

Thanks for sharing with us.

Absolutely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62352.72
ETH 2953.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62