Sharing Educational Content on Steemit is a Huge Responsibility... Sharing with Followers What I Feel About Contributing to the Platform!

Hi Steemians,

I just wanted to share with you what I feel about sharing educational content like guides, tutorials and descriptive posts. It's going to be a very short post (by my standards) on how I feel about it and why it is not easy for me to post regularly; even though I wish to.

Ilyas Tarar
Images do not always have to be professional thumbnails, right?

Educational posts have huge impact on readers. Their subsequent actions and application of the knowledge determines their success or failure. In plain words, wrong guidance can lead to loss of readers. This loss can be financial, reputational or of any nature.

That is why publishing such content is a huge responsibility. It takes time. It takes a lot of research. It should take a lot of research. And that is exactly why I haven't been able to post on a daily basis. It is nearly impossible to post guides and tutorials on a daily basis unless the author does not care about the authenticity of information and its impact on his/her readers.

I care about my readers and, therefore, I care a lot about accuracy of the information I share.

Some Posts and Research Behind Them

Some of my posts have rocketed to $400 and even $500+ in rewards. But is it a cooncidence or is there some reason behind it? Let me share three of my recent posts and how I created them.

  • My second Utopian contribution was the Reputation Score 101 guide. It crossed $360 in rewards—my highest ever rewarded post at that time—but finalized at $300+ due to Utopian's 15-25 % deduction from the author rewards. I had studied reputation system for more than five days, reading almost all previous content written on the subject prior to my post. Yet, my post was not a copy of any of the posts that I read. Not even close.

IMG_20180126_112843.jpg

IMG_20180126_112911.jpg

  • The latest example is the Steemit reward system guide which I posted this week in my Understanding Steemit series; a series aimed at making Steemit's system known for everyone including the newest members. I have covered reward system in past as well but not in such detail or accuracy as the latest edition. It took me eight hours just to compile it. The research behind it is not inlcuded in this time. The post shot past $520 in rewards in two days of its publishing but the downtrend in Steem's price brought the payout to sub $500 level. The post is still active so you can open it in a new tab and upvote it if you like. But it will rise back as Steem has gone up in last two days.

IMG_20180126_112937.jpg

I love Steemit and I love contributing to the paltform. As you can see, my contributions receive good rewards. I am not alone though. My friend @jbn also noted that contribution based content—a concept heavily supported by @transisto—brings good rewards and more followers. But I do consider it a massive responsibility and do not wish to give false knowledge. That is why the 20+ post ideas sitting in my head right now will take months to come out.

I am just a human and can commit errors but none of them would be intentional. In fact, I love it when someone points out something debatable in my content. I, in fact, always ask for feedback. If you ever notice something doubtful in my posts or comments, please never hesitate to point it out. It will help me learn more and correct myself as well as refine the knowledge that I always share.

This post was a heart to heart conversation with my followers and fellow Steemians. I wish to be open and honest about what I do and why I do it. Please consider upvoting and resteeming this post to spread the essence forward.

Sort:  

I really appreciate your hard work and all efforts that you put to make very complex things simpler and step by step guides for all of us.
Your tutorials and guides about how the platform works are very helpful especially for the newbies.
I have learned almost everything about steemit from your blogs.
Love and prayers for you. <3

Thank you so much for these kind words. I am glad to have been able to spread the knowledge that I learned and practiced.

Excellent post. I always encourage people to write their posts which contribute towards betterment of platform. And these posts dont necessarily have to be about steemit. They can be about anything. Even a DIY guide on how to repair some specific brand of phone can be a contribution. Your such posts can bring a lot of traffic to steemit once they show up on google searches..

Thank you for the mention in the post. Keep up the amazing work..

Steem on 😌

I am planning to diversify my blog a bit this year. I will write about finance, life and education more as I learn more about these topics. Thank you for your feedback.

I hope people respect the way you do things - quality over quantity - and all the thought and effort that goes into such posts.

The ones I have read so far have really been informative and engaging, so please do keep doing things the way you feel is best for you. :)

Thank you so much for your feedback. The post reflects everything I feel about being responsible so that my followers and readers can benefit.

@ilyastarar Firstly I would like to thank you for you continuous work on providing guidance for newbies like me ! I have learnt a lot from your tutorials. Secondly - You are 100% rights, a good piece of content takes days, even weeks to prepare. I personally spend at least 4-5 hours writing an article and I don't even provide tutorials. Crazy how many people post just to upvote themselves and earn a SBD or 2... I prefer the long-game !

I would be very happy if you can check my content and share some feedback with me, as I have a lot of respect for you and your opinion would bring me great value !

I have your blog open in the next tab and I will surely have a look at it. Expect feedback in comments to your recent posts.

Thank you so much for your feedback.

I am very happy about your success on steemit.I personally like to read and follow your posts and they are full of information.Especially for newbies who are struggling on a steemit platform.

Thank you so much for your kind wishes and great feedback.

Sir Really appreciate​ you for the knowledge​ that you are sharing with us. thumbs up. I know you work hard. and this the result of hardworking. everyone can touch this level. if we work hard and put our time wisely​ here. once again thanks​. and keep going like that. <3

Thank you so much. I try to do things with care and dedication. It takes time but is very rewarding in many ways. Such feedback is a reward too so thank you!

always​ welcome. sure will follow you. because​ I am a ​newbie here.

knowlegde indeed can never be a waste. Your time and effort used to put up this post is a nice one,have learnt from it and so educative.I strongly believe if people value and respect your idea to the way you portray things then we all will succeed in all aspect of life.All the best thanks.

Thank you for your opinion on the topic. I agree that knowledge and hardwork does not go waste.

I am a new member and trying to explore steemit. Your efforts to make steemit simplified is very helpful for newcomers. By such posts this community will definitely expand. Upvoted U, although it may have a little impact....

Thank you for the feedback. I am glad that I am contributing in some way.

It is a good job endeed. I finally found info I've been looking for. Thank you

Actually, I followed a link to @calamus056 's post and find all details about how curation reward is calculated. Thank you!

thank you for taking the time to write these. Steemit can be very confusing to newbies and it takes a while to get a handle on things. Posts like these have helped tremendously.

Thank you for your feedback. As I learn more and more, I will share that knowledge with the Steemit community. It's something I owe to Steemit for what it has brought to my life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22