The Chronicles of a Teacher #4: The Superpowers of Mindfulness (Part 1)

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

andrew-seaman-597889-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Andrew Seaman on Unsplash

Mindfulness is not just another fancy word that we now often use to reflect a state of calmness through colouring and yoga exercises. It involves a simple, undistracted awareness of what is happening in the now, shifting our focus with openness, kindness and inquisitiveness. It is about being aware of what is happening with our emotions as well as the things around us. Some may say that it is to dive deep into self-awareness without tuning out from the "now" moments. Being mindful can be quite a challenge for young kids, and well, sometimes for adults like you and me too.

For the last six weeks, I have been combating with some friendship wars happening in my class, well pretty much because they are already in that pre-teenagehood phase. What made it even more challenging was (and still is) the parents. Nothing new right, adults, we tend to complicate things that what they appear to be. Hours and hours were spent on meeting parents and students that were involved in the situation... meeting my supervisor, counsellor, and head of school... exploring and brainstorming about the situation... writing meeting minutes and incident reports...

We have definitely seen some improvements from the kids and how they interact with one another, but both sides of parents have made it very clear with me that they are never going to talk to one another because of various reasons although I painted the impression that they are still going to be classmates in the next academic year, and they will still cross path when it comes to collaborating for our class and school events. However, they would love to work with me to groom their child's learning development at school, separately. I was like...

confused season 3 GIF by Outlander-source.gif

Image Source

... I remembered my heart was just shattered after listening to their strong statements after our parent-teacher conferences weeks ago. I felt like I have not done it right for them, and most importantly, for their kids. These two kids used to be the bestest friends of all previously, but something external (I will not share it here) shifted the dynamics and since then, both families find it difficult to see eye to eye on most things. I will be honest with you, for a couple of days, it was so difficult waking up early in the morning to go to work, and I was beating myself up about the situation internally.

Tired Dog GIF-source.gif

Image Source

While coffee cups sure did its usual magic as mood boosters at work, I had my AHA moment! I asked myself a lot in this period of reflecting on my teaching practice, and it came down to this ultimate question, "What is the missing piece?". Then, I came across this video on YouTube after my lunch break, one day.

That missing piece was MINDFULNESS!

I guess, I may not have emphasized mindfulness enough in my classroom practice over the many years of teaching. Similar strategies to promote mindfulness have been used and adopted, but I really have not introduced a deeper concept of mindfulness to my students, and how significant it is. Well, it is never too late for me to grow as a better educator! Wanna know what I did next, and have been doing up to this point? Stay tuned for my next post!

Thank you for reading my post today! Hope you liked it :)

heartscally signature.gif

heartscally circle icon.jpeg

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by heartscally from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

One of the hardest things of being an educator is that you will end up fighting a war on many many fronts. I don't think it's entirely your fault for missing out on mindfulness, that being said, we adapt as we go along!

Right on, @alvinauh! Learning as we go along in this journey. :)

Thank you for sharing! Teaching is life!

Thank you for reading, @spellmaker! :)

I am very interested to see what you did once you realized mindfulness was important in the classroom. I hope whatever it was helped bring the parents of each side together!

I will be doing the post this weekend, or tomorrow night, @keciah! :) We shall find out soon, hehehee

Oh, I'm looking forward to your next post to get to know how you solved this situation with mindfulness! It's also great to get to know your perspective of a teacher!
I know from experience what a great tool mindfulness is, and during my years as a student I have never had a teacher who would introduce it anyhow in their classes, but maybe I wasn't aware of it at the time.
Looking forward to your next post!
All the best,
Klaudia

Ah, thanks for dropping by, @shinyforest! Glad that now, mindfulness is becoming more important in the world of education. Will be doing my Part 2 post soon, this weekend!

I have a very challenging 2º grade this year, I'm also using Mindfulness with them, we started only 3 weeks ago, I hope to see changes soon.

All the best, @vivi-rocha!!! YOU CAN DO IT!!! Sending you some teacher vibes!!! :D

Oh this is very true. Something I've learnt and still learning til today.

When things happened, learn to respond, not react. ~ Ps Gloria.

Thanks for sharing @heartscally! :)

I can so identify with your situation, being a teacher myself. I admire your investment in these children's lives and how you have even taken the time to see what you can do to have better results. Not many teachers are that invested.

Thank you, @janique for your kind words! :) Hugs! #teacherpower

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58416.09
ETH 2514.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34